Agricultural Science

The Ag Data Commons provides access to a wide variety of open data relevant to agricultural research and related domains. These may include subjects such as agronomy, genomics, hydrology, soils, agro-ecosystems, sustainability science, and economic statistics. Data included in the Ag Data Commons is funded in whole or in part by USDA.

Distributed network of agriculture-related information, subject area experts and other resources.

Agricola covers all aspects of agriculture including: agriculture, agronomy, biology, chemistry, crop management, ecology, feed science, fertilizers, food and nutrition, and more. Agricola contains citations to over 3.7 million records, both in English and non-English.

The Agricultural Communications Documentation Center (ACDC) is home to more than 40,000 agricultural communications documents from 170 countries.

AGRIS (International System for Agricultural Science and Technology) is a global public database providing access to bibliographic information on agricultural science and technology. The database is maintained by CIARD, and its content is provided by participating institutions from all around the globe that form the network of AGRIS centers.

A comprehensive index to life science and biomedical research.

CAB Abstracts, a subset of CAB Direct, is a comprehensive database in the applied life sciences, covering the significant research and development literature in agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, environmental sciences, human health, food and nutrition, leisure and tourism, microbiology and parasitology and plant sciences.

Coverage: 1976 - present

Searchable database of food sources not usually considered as crops but may be consumed during famines.

Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.

In 1987, Congress called for the creation of the National Center for Agricultural Law Research and Information. Since then, the National Agricultural Law Center has been funded with federal appropriations through the National Agricultural Library, an entity within the Agricultural Research Service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

A cooperative resource for the applied plant sciences. Offers an extensive searchable database comprised of thousands of web-based resource pages from the network's partner universities, companies, and associations. The network's peer-reviewed citable journals, Plant Health Progress, Crop Management, Forage and Grazinglands, and Applied Turfgrass Science provide credible current information in areas important to practitioners, policy makers, and the public.

Plant Science is a bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science.

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

The collection contains agricultural science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from AGRICOLA.

PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

In the upper right hand menu bar, select Browse, then Browse by subject. From there, select your area of interest to find relevant data repositories.

is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.

Scopus is a core multidisciplinary database, the largest abstracts database of peer-reviewed literature including journals, books and conference proceedings.

ARS's Scientific Manuscript database, formally known as "TEKTRAN", captures the latest ARS published research results. As soon as a manuscript is accepted for publication it is put into our database and made available to cooperators and the public. Our scientific database is updated daily.

Web of Science provides you access to the most reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research connected through linked content citation metrics from multiple sources within a single interface.

A small non-profit providing free full-text search of a series or conference or journal sponsored by an organization. Organizations might include academic departments, government agencies, non-government organizations, or professional associations.

The Agricultural Market Access Database (AMAD) contains a common data set on tariffs, tariff-rate quotas and imports so that researchers, policy makers, and others can analyse the levels of tariff protections in agriculture among WTO members.

This guide presents internet-available agricultural market information sources, including resources for market reports and prices, exchanges and quotes, links, and email and discussion groups.
Kindly note, this site was last updated in 2001.

Restricted access.

U.S. agricultural production statistics.

The ERS mission is to inform and enhance public and private decision making on economic and policy issues related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development.

The USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS) contains nearly 2,500 reports and datasets from several agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA).

Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations Statistics Division

A collaborative effort by USAID, MSU, IFPRI and UP.
The overall mission of the Feed the Future Innovation Lab for Food Security Policy (FSP) is to promote inclusive agrifood system productivity growth, improved nutritional outcomes, and enhanced livelihood resilience through improved policy environments. Taking a broad view of agriculture, including the farm and off-farm parts of the agrifood system, FSP strives to increase countries capacity to generate policy-relevant evidence and analysis. This knowledge, when utilized by stakeholders, will improve policy formulation and implementation throughout the food system

FOREIGN TRADE is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States.

Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world.

The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.

Labor Market Information from the State of New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development

The North American Tripartite Committee on Agricultural Statistics is a joint initiative by the lead agricultural statistical agencies of Canada, Mexico, and USA that was established to advance the development and publication of North American agriculture and agricultural related statistics.

The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.

The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.

Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau, USA Trade Online is a dynamic data tool that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data. With multiple data sets and capabilities, USA Trade Online can assist different types of customers from a wide range of industries and fields.

The ARS PPD is a compendium of chemical and physical properties of 334 widely used pesticides. Information included in the database focuses on 16 of the most important properties that affect pesticide transport and degradation characteristics.

The International Database on Insect Disinfestation and Sterilization or IDIDAS provides information on the doses of radiation applied for these purposes to mites and insect pests of crops and veterinary and human importance. It includes data on both the doses required for the phytosanitary irradiation (disinfestation) of fresh and durable commodities infested with specific pests, and also the radiation doses used to induce sterility

The Internet Center for Wildlife Damage Management is a non-profit grant funded site that provides research-based information on how to responsibly handle wildlife damage problems. This site seeks to service the needs of 4 key constituency groups: homeowners, agricultural producers, professionals (both academic and industry providers) and policy makers, such as government agencies.

NPIC provides objective, science-based information about pesticides and pesticide-related topics to enable people to make informed decisions about pesticides and their use. NPIC is a cooperative agreement between Oregon State University and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

At Pesticide Action Network (PAN) North America, we work to create a just, thriving food system. For too long, pesticide and biotech corporations have dictated how we grow food, placing the health and economic burdens of pesticide use on farmers, farmworkers and rural communities. PAN works with those on the frontlines to tackle the pesticide problem — and reclaim the future of food and farming.

The Pesticide Action Network (PAN) Pesticide Database is your one-stop location for toxicity and regulatory information for pesticides.

Pesticide Information Profiles (PIPs) are documents which provide specific pesticide information relating to health and environmental effects. Please note, the information on this site may be out-of-date. It was last revised in 1996. EXTOXNET no longer updates this information, but it may be useful as a reference or resource. Refer to the National Pesticide Information Center for more current information.

Compiled by the National Agricultural Library, this is a list of resources on the history and current applications of Sustainable Agriculture.

Provides information about commodities, pests and pest management practices, people and issues in the U.S.

The pesticide-use maps provided on this web site show the geographic distribution of estimated use on agricultural land in the conterminous United States for numerous pesticides.

The Washington State Pest Management Resource Service (WSPRS) serves as a hub for research-based information about pest management practices, including both chemical and alternative control methodologies.

Since 1951, the Animal Welfare Institute has been dedicated to reducing animal suffering caused by people. We seek better treatment of animals everywhere - in the laboratory, on the farm, in commerce, at home, and in the wild.

The Animal Welfare Institute publishes books, reports, and brochures on a variety of topics.

The Pirbright Institute, formerly known as the Institute for Animal Health, is a world leading centre of excellence in research and surveillance of virus diseases of farm animals and viruses that spread from animals to humans.

Compiled by the National Agricultural Library, a guide to federal government research resources on biotechnology

The purpose of the BRAG program is to support the generation of new information that will assist Federal regulatory agencies in making science-based decisions about the effects of introducing into the environment genetically engineered organisms (GE), including plants, microorganisms (including fungi, bacteria, and viruses), arthropods, fish, birds, mammals and other animals excluding humans.

The University of Florida Book of Insect Records (UFBIR) names insect champions and documents their achievements.

An online resource devoted to North American insects, spiders and their kin, offering identification, images, and information.

The Butterflies and Moths of North America (BAMONA) project is ambitious effort to collect and provide access to quality-controlled data about butterflies and moths for the continent of North America from Panama to Canada.

The mission of the Center for Invasive Species & Ecosystem Health is to serve a lead role in development, consolidation and dissemination of information and programs focused on invasive species, forest health, natural resource and agricultural management through technology development, program implementation, training, applied research and public awareness at the state, regional, national and international levels.

Authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.

Articles contained in the KY Pest News (KPN) newsletter are submitted by the University of Kentucky Entomology, Plant Pathology and Weed Science Cooperative Extension Specialists in the College of Agriculture, Food and Environment. Topics cover a variety of pests including insects, diseases, and weeds. This newsletter is published weekly during the peak growing season and bi-weekly the remainder of the year.

The Orthoptera Species File is a taxonomic database of the world's Orthoptera (grasshoppers, locusts, katydids and crickets), both living and fossil. It has full synonymic and taxonomic information for more than 27,000 valid species, 44,370 scientific names, 196,500 citations to 13,200 references, 83,400 images, 1450 sound recordings, 91,800 specimen records, and keys to 2,800 taxa.

Entomology-related news, identification tools, distance learning opportunities and mobile apps from Purdue Extension

The Xerces Society is a nonprofit organization that protects wildlife through the conservation of invertebrates and their habitat. For over forty years, the Society has been at the forefront of invertebrate protection worldwide, harnessing the knowledge of scientists and the enthusiasm of citizens to implement conservation programs.

The U.S. Global Change Research Program (USGCRP) was established by Presidential Initiative in 1989 and mandated by Congress in the Global Change Research Act (GCRA) of 1990 to “assist the Nation and the world to understand, assess, predict, and respond to human-induced and natural processes of global change.”

TRI is a resource for learning about toxic chemical releases and pollution prevention activities reported by industrial and federal facilities. TRI data support informed decision-making by communities, government agencies, industries, and others.

CropINDEX is an extensive alphabetical list of all common and scientific crop names held on this site, but does not include Famine Foods entries which are indexed separately. Use CropINDEX if you already know the name of the crop or species, or just want to browse.

SRIC - World Soil Information is an independent, science-based foundation. The institute was founded in 1966 following a recommendation of the International Soil Science Society (ISSS) and United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

Soils is part of the National Cooperative Soil Survey, an effort of Federal and State agencies, universities, and professional societies to deliver science-based soil information.

The Soil and Health Library is a not-for-profit association incorporated in New South Wales, Australia. To preserve key original agriculture, health, spiritual freedom, personal sovereignty and environmental publications, and make them available on the internet.

State soil surveys from the Natural Resources Conservation Service of the United States Department of Agriculture