Agricultural Science

The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) administers programs that create domestic and international marketing opportunities for U.S. producers of food, fiber, and specialty crops.

The Agricultural Research Service (ARS) is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's chief scientific in-house research agency. Our job is finding solutions to agricultural problems that affect Americans every day from field to table.

The Alternative Farming Systems Information Center (AFSIC) specializes in identifying resources about sustainable food systems and practices in support of USDA's effort to ensure a sustainable future for agriculture and farmers worldwide.

The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is a multi-faceted Agency with a broad mission area that includes protecting and promoting U.S. agricultural health, regulating genetically engineered organisms, administering the Animal Welfare Act and carrying out wildlife damage management activities. These efforts support the overall mission of USDA, which is to protect and promote food, agriculture, natural resources and related issues.

Free publications and searchable databases on topics in Sustainable Agriculture

Developed with the mission to help Cooperative Extension System professionals increase their impact, this website offers:
Knowledge resources from America’s land-grant universities and the Cooperative Extension System
Answers to questions by university experts around the country

Farm Service Agency is equitably serving all farmers, ranchers, and agricultural partners through the delivery of effective, efficient agricultural programs for all Americans.

The Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) is the public health agency in the U.S. Department of Agriculture responsible for ensuring that the nation's commercial supply of meat, poultry, and egg products is safe, wholesome, and correctly labeled and packaged.

The Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS) links U.S. agriculture to the world to enhance export opportunities and global food security.

The National Agricultural Library is one of four national libraries of the United States and houses one of the world's largest collections devoted to agriculture and its related sciences.

The National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) provides leadership and funding for programs that advance agriculture-related sciences. We invest in and support initiatives that ensure the long-term viability of agriculture.

Provides information about commodities, pests and pest management practices, people and issues in the U.S.

NRCS helps America’s farmers, ranchers and forest landowners conserve the nation’s soil, water, air and other natural resources. All programs are voluntary and offer science-based solutions that benefit both the landowner and the environment.

The USDA Plant Hardiness Zone Map is the standard by which gardeners and growers can determine which plants are most likely to thrive at a location.

Provides consultations, assistance and funding opportunities for, individuals and businesses located in rural communities.

Since 1988, the SARE grants and education program has advanced agricultural innovation that promotes profitability, stewardship of the land, air and water, and quality of life for farmers, ranchers and their communities.

A multi-faceted agency that manages and protects 154 national forests and 20 grasslands in 44 states and Puerto Rico. The agency’s mission is to sustain the health, diversity, and productivity of the nation’s forests and grasslands to meet the needs of present and future generations.

The USDA providex leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues based on public policy, the best available science, and effective management. We have a vision to provide economic opportunity through innovation, helping rural America to thrive; to promote agriculture production that better nourishes Americans while also helping feed others throughout the world; and to preserve our Nation's natural resources through conservation, restored forests, improved watersheds, and healthy private working lands.

Full text of the USDA Agricultural Economic Reports via the NAL Digital Collections.

Full text of the USDA Agriculture Information Bulletins via the NAL Digital Collections.

Full text of the USDA Circulars via the NAL Digital Collections..

Full text of the USDA Farmers' Bulletins via the NAL Digital Collections.

Full text of the USDA Technical Bulletins via the NAL Digital Collections.

Full text of all of the Yearbooks of Agriculture via the NAL Digital Collections.

Considering the need of information about agricultural topics in Central and Eastern Europe (CEE), the agricultural information organisations and experts of the region have decided to collect and provide information on agricultural institutions and other important agriculture related subjects to help users to find information and contacts in CEE countries and former USSR.

A non-profit society that promotes urban food production and environmental conservation.

CGIAR is the only worldwide partnership addressing agricultural research for development, whose work contributes to the global effort to tackle poverty, hunger and major nutrition imbalances, and environmental degradation.

Achieving food security for all is at the heart of FAO's efforts – to make sure people have regular access to enough high-quality food to lead active, healthy lives.

The International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD), a specialized agency of the United Nations, was established as an international financial institution in 1977 as one of the major outcomes of the 1974 World Food Conference. The conference was organized in response to the food crises of the early 1970s that primarily affected the Sahelian countries of Africa.

The National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition (NSAC) is an alliance of grassroots organizations that advocates for federal policy reform to advance the sustainability of agriculture, food systems, natural resources, and rural communities.

NJ agency which oversees programs that serve virtually all New Jersey citizens. The Department was established in 1916. One of the Department’s major priorities is to promote, protect and serve the Garden State’s diverse agriculture and agribusiness industries.

Agriculture can help reduce poverty for 78% of the world's poor, who live in rural areas and work mainly in farming. It can raise incomes, improve food security and benefit the environment. The World Bank Group is a leading financier of agriculture, with $8 billion in new commitments in 2015.

The World Trade Organization (WTO) deals with the global rules of trade between nations. Its main function is to ensure that trade flows as smoothly, predictably and freely as possible.

The Agricultural & Applied Economics Association (AAEA) is a not-for-profit association serving the professional interests of members working in agricultural and broadly related fields of applied economics.

AAAE is dedicated to studying, applying, and promoting the teaching and learning processes in agriculture.

The Mission of the American Community Gardening Association is to build community by increasing and enhancing community gardening and greening across the United States and Canada.

The American Forage and Grassland Council (AFGC) is an international organization made up of 22 affiliate councils in the United States with over 2,500 members. Our primary objective is to promote the profitable production and sustainable utilization of quality forage and grasslands and are dedicated to advancing the use of forage as a prime feed resource.

Founded in 1922, the non-profit American Horticultural Society (AHS) is one of the oldest member-based national gardening organizations in North America. The Society’s membership includes nearly 20,000 avid gardeners and horticultural professionals, as well as numerous regional and national partner organizations.

The American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers is an educational and scientific organization dedicated to the advancement of engineering applicable to agricultural, food, and biological systems. Founded in 1907 and headquartered in St. Joseph, Michigan, ASABE comprises 8,000 members in more than 100 countries.

A national professional society that represents the landscape architecture profession.

CWAE's purpose is to promote the welfare of women and other underrepresented groups in the profession of agricultural economics by representing their interests and by engaging in activities that encourage their professional advancement through networking and leadership opportunities.

CAST assembles, interprets, and communicates credible science-based information regionally, nationally, and internationally to legislators, regulators, policymakers, the media, the private sector, and the public.

An educational and scientific organization comprised of more than 4700 members dedicated to the advancement of crop science.

The International Agricultural Trade Research Consortium (IATRC or Consortium) is a unique international association of agricultural trade researchers and policy practitioners. Started in 1980 by six United States agricultural economists, the membership has since grown to about 200 economists from academia, government, and other research institutions in 31 countries.

The Irrigation Association is the leading membership organization for irrigation companies and professionals. Together with our members, we are committed to promoting efficient irrigation and to long-term sustainability of water resources for future generations.

The Northeast Organic Farming Association of New Jersey (NOFA-NJ) is a membership-based educational non-profit organization. NOFA-NJ is dedicated to supporting sustainable food and agriculture throughout New Jersey. Our membership includes; farmers, gardeners, chefs, retailers, land care professionals, policy makers, researchers, educators, and food lovers.

The Soil Science Society of America (SSSA) is a progressive international scientific society that fosters the transfer of knowledge and practices to sustain global soils.

The United States Agricultural Information Network provides a forum for discussion of agricultural issues, takes a leadership role in the formation of a national information policy as related to agriculture, makes recommendations to the National Agricultural Library on agricultural information matters, and promotes cooperation and communication among its members.

World Resources Institute (WRI) is a global research organization that spans more than 50 countries, with offices in Brazil, China, Europe, India, Indonesia, and the United States. Our more than 450 experts and staff work closely with leaders to turn big ideas into action to sustain our natural resources—the foundation of economic opportunity and human well-being.

Center for Food Safety (CFS) is a national non-profit public interest and environmental advocacy organization working to protect human health and the environment by curbing the use of harmful food production technologies and by promoting organic and other forms of sustainable agriculture.

The Council on Food, Agricultural and Resource Economics (C-FARE) is a non-profit organization based in Washington, DC. C-FARE promotes the work of applied economists and serves as a catalyst for incorporating economic thinking into the analysis of food, agricultural and resource decisions.

Based in Washington, D.C., the National Center for Food and Agricultural Policy fosters and conducts objective, non-advocacy research, analysis, and education to inform public policy on food, agriculture, natural resources, environmental quality, and rural economics.

Organization set up to influence federal agriculture policy. It supports family farms, works to protect natural resources, promote healthy rural communities.

To preserve and enhance agriculture, farming, and related activities and businesses in New Jersey through educational, informational and promotional programs.

Rodale Institute is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit dedicated to pioneering organic farming through research and outreach.