Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Philosophy: Internet Resources

Philosophy, including logic and history of philosophy.

Electronic Text Archives

Bertrand Russell Archives (McMaster University)
Online resources for the study of the British philosopher, logician, essayist, and peace advocate. Includes an archival gallery of scanned images of documents and other artifacts; a database of correspondence records; searchable tables of contents of A Bibliography of Bertrand Russell and The Collected Papers of Bertrand Russell (in-progress), and a table of new and recent works in Bertrand Russell studies.

Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker [Rutgers Restricted Access]
Includes digitized texts of the works of Kante, Fichte and Schleiermacher.

Leibniz: Sämtliche Schriften und Briefe (Akademie–Ausgabe)
Portions of the Sämtliche Schriften und Briefe may be downloaded from this site for scholarly use. Scholars may not use the texts provided, either a part or the whole of a work, for publication or commercial purposes without express written permission. All rights of the responsible editors and responsible publishers are reserved.

PastMasters Philosophy Texts [Rutgers Restricted Access]
Rutgers has access to ten Past Masters titles: the complete works of Aristotle and Hume, selected works of Davidson and Locke, Plato’s dialogues, Wittgenstein’s published works, the Oxford Classical Dictionary, and three compilations: British Philosophy: 1600-1900, The Continental Rationalists, and Political Philosophy: Macchiavelli to Mill

PhilSci - Archive
Papers in Philosophy of Science providing preprints.  The Archive provides means of disseminating new work.  Sponsored by the Center for Philosophy of Science at the University of Pittsburgh.

Rutgers Classical Texts Portal
A collection of over 80 classics texts. Authors represented include Aristotle, Boethius, Epictetus, Galen and Plato. Some less famous works are included. Texts can be Browsed by Author/Title and Category. Full text searching can be done across the entire collection for those texts that are in English.

Encyclopedias

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic, Open Access encyclopedia funded by donations by hundreds of partner institutions and individuals, including Rutgers University.. Founded in 1995 and managed by an editorial board led by Edward N. Zalta.

Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a digital version of the 10 volume, 2006 second edition of this Macmillan publication edited by Donald M. Borchert.

The Shorter Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (2005) is condensed from the ten-volume REP edited by Edward Crag (1998) that may be found in the Alexander and Robeson Library reference collections.

Bibliographies and Gateways

Contemporary Philosophy of Mind: An Annotated Bibliography
This is a bibliography of recent work in the philosophy of mind, philosophy of cognitive science, philosophy of artificial intelligence, and on consciousness in the sciences.

Episteme Links
Categorized links to Philosophy resources on the Internet.

Essential Readings on Chinese Philosophy
A bibliography of the essential secondary readings in English on Chinese Philosophy.

Ethics Updates
Updates on current literature, both popular and professional, that relates to ethics.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.