Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Philosophy: Find Articles

Philosophy, including logic and history of philosophy.

Find Articles

**The Philosopher's Index (1940-present)
The preeminent indexing and abstracting service for philosophers and students of philosophy. Provides coverage of all major philosophy journals in English, French, German, Spanish, and Italian, as well as publications from related fields. Selected books are also indexed.

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
A multi-discipline, full-text database of 3,200 scholarly publications as well as abstracts and indexing for over 4,170 scholarly journals with some dating back to 1984. A valuable and large collection of peer-reviewed full text journals for nearly all academic areas of study.

L'Année Philologique
Bibliographic records for the years 1969 to 2007 with new records added each year. L'Annee Philologique indexes modern editions of ancient texts, collections of articles (including Festschriften), journal articles, articles in topical collections, dissertations, and book reviews.

ATLA Religion Database
Compilation of indexes    to religious topics, including Philosophy of Religion.

JSTOR
A database featuring back runs of key journals.  JSTOR has agreed with publishers to set up a "moving wall" so that the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 2-5 years after the publishing date. The Rutgers subscription to JSTOR provides access to 23 philosophy journals, including Journal of Philosophy, Mind, Philosophical Quarterly, and Philosophical Review. JSTOR features full-text searching of key words and phrases.

LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (1973+).
Coverage includes philosophy of language, with coverage of books, journals, conferences, and web sites. Citations only.

MLA International Bibliography (1926-present)
Indexes critical scholarship on philosophy as related to literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Coverage includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.

Periodicals Index Online
An international interdisciplinary index useful for finding articles from as early as 1770, including several hundred in French, German, Spanish, and Italian. Periodicals Index Online includes a growing online archive of full-image articles. There are 390 philosophy titles included, withsome  available full-text (including some cross links to JSTOR).

Philosophical Books. (1960-)
Also available to 2010 in ALEXANDER PER Shelved By Title.  Most recent online version has ceased carrying book reviews.

Web of Science
Citation indexes, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science includes citations and references from articles in high quality, peer-reviewed journals published from 1994 to the present.
 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.