Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Patents: Patent Databases

Useful information for the individual inventor.

Patent Searching - Public & Free Sources

Search Canadian industrial designs from 1861 to the present.

Canadian patents database lets you access 93 years of patent descriptions and images.  Titles, Names and Classifications are searchable from 1869. Text Databases such as Abstract and Claims are searchable from 1978-08-15. The Issue date is searchable from 1869. The Filing date is searchable from 1978-08-15. The Priority date is searchable from 1989-10-01. Images are available from 1920-01-01 except for Cover page and Abstract which are available from 1975.

News, FAQs and Laws & Policy. Formerly known as China - State Intellectual Property Office (SIPO). 

This database serves as a resource for policy makers and members of the general public interested in fields like genomics, genetics and biotechnology. The DNA Patent Database (DPD) contains a collection of DNA-based patents and patent applications issued by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) and makes the full-text of such patents and applications available to users at no cost.

From this site you can get access to the European Patent Office's search engine. It is a free Internet service from the European Patent Organization. You can use it to search 90 million patent documents from all over the world from 1836 to today. All the tools and information that inventors, lawyers, engineers, scientists, researchers and enterprises need to conduct business with the European Patent Office are listed on this page.  The European Patent Office's search engine: Espacenet is a free Internet service from the European Patent Organization.   Espacenet Tutorial - How to search esp@cenet, the European Patent Office's online patent data

The German Patent and Trademark Office’s DEPATISnet contains patent data from approximately 90 countries and regional patent offices, making it comparable to the Espacenet system.  Search interfaces in German and English are available.  German Patent Images 1877+ and Full text 1987+.

Google Patent Search covers the entire collection of patents made available by the USPTO rom patents issued in the 1790s through those issued in the middle of 2006. Currently it does not include patent applications, international patents, or U.S. patents issued over the last few months. One can either do a general search or use the Advanced Patent Search feature.

The Japan Patent Office (JPO) and the National Center for Industrial Property Information and Training (INPIT) have launched Japan Platform for Patent Information (J-PlatPat) on March 23rd 2015, which is a new service to provide patent information including utility-model, design, trademark information.  The new service provides an enhanced environment for searching basic information needed for an intellectual property strategy building as well as a functional and simple user interface.

The Patent Lens was an online patent search facility and knowledge resource, provided by CAMBIA, an independent, international non-profit organization dedicated to democratizing innovation. Launched in 2000, the Patent Lens allowed free searching of over 10 million full-text patent documents, including United States patents and applicationsAustralian patents and applications, European patents and Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications. The Patent Lens was distinguished as being the only not-for-profit facility of its kind, with international coverage and links to non-patent literature and tutorials.

The IPO also has direct administrative responsibility for examining and issuing or rejecting patents, and maintaining registers of intellectual property including patents, designs and trade marks in the UK.

The USPTO Web server offers access to the U.S. Patent Bibliographic Database, which includes both granted patents and pending applications.  Full text searches are possible for patents issued since 1976.  Full-image U.S. patents are available back to 1790, searchable by patent numbers and current US classification. Images are available as tiff files, one page at a time.  You can now browse through newly issued patents with the Electronic Official Gazette for Patents (eOG:P). 

Search or browse World Patent bibliographic data, abstracts & drawings of published PCT applications. Abstracts are in English, with full patent images in the language of the inventor's country.  Link directly to the searchable index of international patent applications at  Patentscope.

Google Patent Search

Rutgers Databases

The PATFT database includes full text U.S. patents (including utility, design, reissue, plant patents and SIR documents) from 1790 to the present.  Patents from January 1976 to the present offer the full searchable text, including all bibliographic data, such as the inventor's name, the patent's title, and the assignee's name; the abstract; the full description of the invention; and the claims. The display of each patent's full-text includes a hyperlink to obtain full-page images of each page of the patent.

 

Patent Classification Systems

There are currently two classification systems in use: the International Patent Classification (IPC) and the new Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC).  The CPC replaces both the USPC (United States Patent Classification System) and the ECLA (European Classification System).  The CPC replaced the ECLA in 2013, and the USPC in 2015.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.