Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Articles on a Topic
To the right is a list of indexes that will lead you to articles in
anthropology. A complete list of indexes on all topics can be found on
the libraries main Indexes and Databases page. Since anthropology is a broad subject area, you may wish to explore the main Indexes page for additional resources.
To learn how to use these Indexes, be sure to see: How do I find an Article on my Topic?
How Do I Know Whether RU Has a Particular Journal?
Check here to see whether Rutgers subscribes to the journal you need, and if not, learn how to have a copy of the article scanned for you from another university.
How Do I Know Whether My Article is Scholarly?
See this guide to help determine whether you have found a scholarly article.
Abstracts in Anthropology
This database only provides citations and abstracts for articles, not the full text. To check whether Rutgers has the journal you need, see the box to the left of this column entitled "How do I know if RU has a particular journal?"
Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Incorporates a variety of smaller databases and covers African and South African studies.
Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
Provides access to the most critical peer-reviewed publications of the American Anthropological Association.
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Google Scholar searches scholarly literature and includes peer-reviewed articles, dissertations, book citations, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.