Explore these online encyclopedias for background information on a wide range of topics in anthropology. Titles and short descriptions are below, simply click on this link to connect to them.
Countries and Their Cultures
"Focuses on cultures and countries around the world, specifically what is and is not shared culturally by the people who live in a particular country. Entries contain descriptive summaries of the country in question, including demographic, historical, cultural, economic, religious, and political information."
Encyclopedia of American Urban History
"With contributions from leading academics in their fields, this authoritative resource offers an interdisciplinary approach by covering topics from economics, geography, anthropology, politics, and sociology."
Encyclopedia of Anthropology
"Focuses on topics in physical/biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Special attention is given to hominid evolution, primate behavior, genetics, ancient civilizations, cross-cultural studies, social theories, and the value of human language for symbolic communication."
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society
"Presents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present. Comparative articles include information about childhood in cultures throughout the world."
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
"Coverage includes the origins of clothing and body adornment, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress, as well as representative costumes from a wide range of historical eras."
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
"Covering everything from agronomy to zucchini. Entries on everything from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines."
Encyclopedia of Human Geography
Covers cartography/geographical information systems, economic geography, geographic theory and history, political geography, social/cultural geography, and urban geography.
Encyclopedia of Urban Studies
"Includes important work and traditions from each of the urban disciplines, including urban anthropology, urban economics, urban geography, urban history, urban politics, urban psychology, and urban sociology."
Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations and Footwear Through the Ages
"A broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day."
Gardland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Includes regional overviews, with surveys of musical heritage, traditions and themes, as well as descriptions of specific musical genres, practices, and performances.
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography
"Provides an authoritative and comprehensive source of information on the discipline of human geography and its constituent, and related, subject areas."
Street Food Around the World: An Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Provides an overview of the world's street food by country or region. (Recipes included!)
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: email@example.com or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.