Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

French Language & Literature: Find Books & Media

A guide to resources for the study of the French language and literatures in French.

Using the library catalog

Use QuickSearch to search for library materials, regardless of format, that are owned by or accessible via the Rutgers University Libraries.  

Find French books and media in the library catalog

Keyword searching

Keyword searching is the default of our (and most) search interface(s). Use it when you're not quite sure what your looking for, or when you want to survey the libraries' holdings on one or several topics.

Keyword search in QuickSearch

Search by author

Most authors are searched last name first, e.g.: Bourdieu Pierre.

A few medieval authors are searched by first name, e.g.:  Christine de Pisan.

Search by title

Either of these should work because of the presence of what catalogers call uniform and parallel titles.

Title in French, e.g.: À bout de souffle.

Title in English translation, e.g.: Breathless.

Search by subject

When you begin to get a handle on your research topic, you might be aided by the greater precision of a subject (as opposed to keyword) search.

Author as Subject, e.g.: Leiris Michel

Author and Work as Subject, e.g.: Leiris Michel Age d'Homme

Genre as Subject, e.g.: Travelers' writings French

Note: The catalog displays the location of the book, film or other item, its call number, and its status (circulating/non-circulating):

Sublocation, call number and circulation status

E-Books

ARTFL Project - Full text database containing FRANTEXT (well-known works in the French language published between the medieval and modern periods) and French Women Writers (texts of women writers between the 16th and 19th centuries). (NetID Required)

Eighteenth Century Collections Online - Nearly comprehensive collection of works published in English (and non-English language works printed in the United Kingdom) during the eighteenth century. (NetID Required)

Gallica - A source of thousands of books in the collections of the National Library of France (BnF), but also of digitized manuscripts, still images, audiovisual materials, and more. (Open Access)

HathiTrust Digital Library - Search millions of books, government publications, dissertations, journals, and other published and unpublished materials. Includes hundreds of works in French and Latin, mostly from the 18th and 19th centuries. (NetID Required)

Nineteenth Century Collections Online - Database of primary source collections for the 19th century, primarily anglophone, but including material from other nations and in other languages. (NetID Required)

... Or use Advanced Search in QuickSearch, and use the facets on the left side of the screen to limit your results to "Available online" for electronic resources only.

Streaming video search

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.