French Language & Literature

Bloomsbury Cultural History
Surveys common subjects throughout human history. Each Cultural History is divided into volumes by time period: Antiquity, The Middle Ages, Early Modern Age, The Age of Enlightenment, The Age of Empire, and The Modern Age.

Encyclopedia of Literature
Part of Gale's Literature Resource Center, this site offers a searchable encyclopedia of authors; works; literary landmarks; literary and critical terms; mythological and folkloric figures; fictional characters; literary movements; prizes; etc. Click on the "Dictionaries" link to limit your search to the encyclopedia. (NetID Restricted)

Feminism in Literature: A Gale Critical Companion
"This six-volume set explores the history of women and feminism throughout literature, from classical antiquity to modern times. Topics covered include misogyny and women's social roles in ancient civilizations, 16th-century women's devotional literature, 17th- and 18th-century women's captivity narratives, the women's suffrage movement in 19th-century America, women writers of the Lost Generation," lesbian literature, and much more." (NetID Restricted)

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Medieval Studies
Annotated bibliographies by scholars in medieval studies. (NetID Restricted)

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Renaissance & Reformation
Annotated bibliographies by scholars in Renaissance and Reformation Studies. (NetID Restricted)

New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Part of the Literature Online database, the Encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of its subject: history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology. (NetID Restricted)

Reference Guide to World Literature
"Contains biographical and critical essays on authors from throughout the world, as well as essays covering specific work or works of an author, with criticism and analysis of those works." Electronic version of the 2 volume 3rd edition of the print resource. (NetID Restricted)

Online

Dictionnaire de l'Académie française

Godefroy, Dictionnaire de l'ancienne langue française (IXe - XVe siècle)

 Dictionnaire Français-Anglais (Larousse)

Dictionnaires d'autrefois (part of ARTFL)

Trésor de la langue française informatisé (TLFi)

WordReference.com

Bilingual

Collins Robert unabridged French-English, English-French dictionary. 7th ed. Alexander Reference PC2640.C687 2005

Barron's French-English dictionary. Alexander Reference PC2640.F74 2006

Grand dictionnaire français-anglais, anglais-français. Paris : Larousse, 2003. 2v. PC2640.G68 2003

Harrap's French and English college dictionary. Alexander Reference PC2640.H28 2006

The Oxford-Hachette French dictionary.  PC2640.O98 1997

Dialects

Cheraifi, Claudie. L'arabe maghrébin : petit dictionnaire français-arabe. PJ6645.F6C494 2005

Confiant, Raphaël. Dictionnaire des néologismes créoles. https://bit.ly/3w4dmyj. Part of Caribbean Literature. 

Dictionnaire encyclopédique de la littérature française. PQ41.D54 1997

Dolbow, Sandra W. Dictionary of modern French literature : from the age of reason through realism. PQ41.D65 1986

France, Peter. The new Oxford companion to literature in French. PQ41.N48 1995

Klapp, Otto. Bibliographie der französischen Literaturwissenschaft. Frankfurt am Main : V. Klostermann. 50 vols. Z2171.K55

Makward, Christiane P. Dictionnaire littéraire des femmes de langue française : de Marie de France à Marie NDiaye. PQ149.M27 1996

Place, Jean-Michel. Bibliographie des revues et journaux littéraires des XIXe et XXe siècles. In 3 vols. PQ2.P5

Gale Virtual Reference Library (NetID Restricted)

Literature Resource Center (NetID Restricted)

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (NetID Restricted)

Sage eReference Encyclopedias (NetID Restricted)

World Biographical Index (NetID Restricted)

Only selected dictionaries, encyclopedias and bibliographies are presented here. To find other reference works in the Libraries' collections, try a subject search using one of the following headings. Use QuickSearch--Advanced to search by subject. Click on the dropdown menu to change your search parameter to Subject.

• French language--Dictionaries.
• French language--Etymology--Dictionaries.
• French literature--Bio-bibliography--Dictionaries--French.
• French literature--French-speaking countries--Dictionaries--French.
• Women and literature--France--Dictionaries.

There are many other ways to refine your search. Ask for help using email or chat!