Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Latin American and Caribbean Studies: Government Documents

Guide to library resources in Latin American and Caribbean Studies

Resources on the Web

Latin American Elections Statistics: A Guide to Sources

"Cconsists of a series of volumes on selected Latin American countries that provide chronologies of elections since independence at the municipal, state, and federal levels and list sources of statistics for each election as identified."

LANIC Guide to Government and Law in Latin America

Excellent collection of web resources.

Latin American Government Documents Archive

"Content in the Archive includes not only the full-text versions of official documents, but also original video and audio recordings of key regional leaders. Archive contents include thousands of annual and 'state of the nation' reports; plans and programs; and speeches by presidents and government ministers. Content can be accessed via full-text search (search help), or by browsing by country or by specialized sample collection, such as 'Presidential Messages' or 'Ministerial Documents.'"

National Security Archive

"An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States."

Constituciones hispanoamericanas (Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes)

"Pretende reunir los textos constitucionales que han tenido alguna vigencia o significación a lo largo de la Historia de los diferentes estados de Hispanoamérica. También ofrece datos geopolíticos y estadísticas de dichos países, una relación de recursos jurídicos y una colección de mapas e himnos nacionales."

Digital Collection of Mexican and Argentine Presidential Messages

Election Guide

"Launched in 1998 through a grant from USAID and currently funded by the same, ElectionGuide is the most comprehensive and timely source of verified election information available online. It provides content on: National elections around the world; Subnational elections of high interest; Political parties and candidates; Referendum provisions; News on election-related laws and developments around the world; Political institutions and electoral systems; Election results and voter turnout."

Political Database of the America

"Through its website, the PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region."

USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse (DEC)

"The Development Experience Clearinghouse (DEC) is the largest online resource for USAID funded, international development documentation."

Rutgers University Libraries Databases for Government Research

Government Documents in the Libraries

Congressional Research Service

The Congressional Research Service in the Library of Congress issues a variety of reports on international governments. To find them, do an Advanced Search in IRIS, using " Library of Congress. Congressional Research Service." as Author, and your country of interest as a Subject or Keyword.

Selected CRS reports have been collected on the web here: Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports

 

For additional government documents relating to Latin America, see the Rutgers University Libraries Research Guide to International and Foreign Governments

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.