Latin American and Caribbean Studies

Guide to library resources in Latin American and Caribbean Studies

Resources from Rutgers University Libraries

Congressional Research Service Reports

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is the public policy research arm of the US Congress. It issues a variety of reports on foreign and international governments. For information on locating reports, visit the guide for Congressional Research.

Congressional Research

To locate country-specific reports in QuickSearch, search for "Congressional Research Service" along with your country of interest.

Other Resources on the Web

Latin American Government Documents Archive - LAGDA
"Content in the Archive includes not only the full-text versions of official documents, but also original video and audio recordings of key regional leaders. Archive contents include thousands of annual and 'state of the nation' reports; plans and programs; and speeches by presidents and government ministers. Content can be accessed via full-text search (search help), or by browsing by country or by specialized sample collection, such as 'Presidential Messages' or 'Ministerial Documents.'"
National Security Archive
"An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States."
Constituciones hispanoamericanas (Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes)
"Pretende reunir los textos constitucionales que han tenido alguna vigencia o significación a lo largo de la Historia de los diferentes estados de Hispanoamérica. También ofrece datos geopolíticos y estadísticas de dichos países, una relación de recursos jurídicos y una colección de mapas e himnos nacionales."
Digital Collection of Mexican and Argentine Presidential Messages
"Digital images of Mexican and Argentine presidential speeches from the 19th century."
Election Guide
"Launched in 1998 through a grant from USAID and currently funded by the same, ElectionGuide is the most comprehensive and timely source of verified election information available online. It provides content on: National elections around the world; Subnational elections of high interest; Political parties and candidates; Referendum provisions; News on election-related laws and developments around the world; Political institutions and electoral systems; Election results and voter turnout."
Political Database of the Americas
"Through its website, the PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region."
USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse (DEC)
"The largest online resource for USAID funded, international development documentation."
Government & Law in Latin America (LANIC) [No longer updated]
Web links on a variety of related topics.