Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

Career Services: Research Companies

Importance of researching companies

Don't underestimate the power of company research. It can give you insight about a company's products/services, culture and what it is seeking in a candidate. Once you have an interview scheduled, dig deeper to gain some details about the company such as key players, products, financials, mergers/acquisitions, news and recent events. This information will provide key background data and give you some strong talking points for your interview.

Check out this research guide about Job Searching for additional information.

Company Research

  • Company websites - a good place to start as they often list useful information including historical data, press releases, corporate structure and financial information, typically featured under headings such as About Company, Newsroom, Leadership or Investors. 
  • Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly Reference USA) - Lists companies and competitors by industry, location, and size. Its directory includes over 14 million U.S. public and private companies. Company listings include internal links to subsidiary and parent companies, as well as lines of business, senior executives and their titles. Useful in creating a list of potential companies to send your resume.
  • MarketLine - Reports include company summary, financials, business segments, historical data, key executives, business descriptions and news.
  • Mergent Online - Database of corporate information covering over 22,000 US and foreign public companies.
  • PrivCo - features business and financial research on non-publicly traded companies, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed, and international unlisted companies. 

  • Westlaw Campus Research has a Company Investigator feature that can be used to identify legal ultimate and immediate parent companies and view corporate family tree structures. Access it using the All Content tab in the Browse section of the home page. You can also access Hoover’s Company Profiles under Other Business Reports in the right column. Hoover’s Reports include company overviews, officers and directors, key competitors, and industry descriptions and codes for U.S. and international public and private companies.

  • Factiva - Vast archive of global publications, reports and news, focusing on business. Includes company profiles and news as well as the full text of The Wall Street Journal, New York Times and Washington Post. 

Vault Career Intelligence

Vault Career Intelligence contains valuable resources for thousands of company profiles.  Practical advice is given to the job seekers about each company in a very easy to read manner.

Media Alerts

Set up a news alert for any companies you'd like to track to get the most current information and job updates. Rutgers databases featuring news alerts include The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Access World News and EBSCO (which includes Business Source Premier and Regional Business News).

See the Media Alert Instruction Sheet below for details.

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.