iPASS - Tertiary Resources
- AHFS Drug Information AHFS Drug Information® (AHFS® DI™) is a collection of drug monographs on virtually every single-drug entity available in the United States; information on various trademarked preparations and brands of a drug are contained in a single monograph. Drug combinations are generally described in the monographs on the principal ingredients; however, they may appear as separate monographs when the combinations are considered important because of therapeutic rationale and/or frequency of use. There are also general statements on groups of drugs whose activities and uses permit their discussion as a class.
- DynaMed Dynamed is a just-in-time clinical reference tool integrating evidence-based medicine with practical information for clinical practice on more than 3,200 clinical topics. It is designed for physicians, nurses, and other health professionals. It includes clinical decision rules, practice guidelines, calculators, and links to full-text articles indexed by the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) PubMed. It is updated daily with the latest medical information gleaned from journals, journal review services, systematic review collections, guideline collections, drug information sources, and other relevant sources. Dynamed also offers Maintenance of Certification, AMA, AAFP, and AANP credits. Users must register for personal accounts to earn credits or access the DynaMed mobile app. To register, follow the Connection Note instructions above.
- Facts & Comparisons Facts and Comparisons is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools that provides users with an extensive drug information library.
- The Green Book On November 16, 1988, the President of the United States signed into law the Generic Animal Drug and Patent Restoration Act (GADPTRA). Among its major provisions, the Act extends eligibility for submission of Abbreviated New Animal Drug Applications (ANADAs) to all animal drug products approved for safety and effectiveness under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act. The Act also requires that each sponsor of an approved animal drug product submit to the FDA certain information regarding patents held for the animal drug or its method of use. The Act requires that this information, as well as a list of all animal drug products approved for safety and effectiveness, be made available to the public. This list must be updated monthly under the provisions of the Act. This publication, which is known as the “Green Book”, was first published in January of 1989. Updates have been added monthly since then. The list is published in its entirety each January. There are eight sections in the publication. The first lists approved drug products; subsections being sorted by tradename and then by NADA number. The second section lists active ingredients and each approved product containing that active ingredient. Sections one and two will not contain products voluntarily withdrawn by their sponsor. The third section lists patent information as provided by the sponsors of approved animal drug products. Products voluntarily withdrawn will appear in this section if they have unexpired patents. The five remaining sections provide additional information not specifically required by the Act, but may be useful to potential sponsors of ANADAs. Section four lists exclusivity periods granted for new uses or claims approved subsequent to enactment of GADPTRA. Section five lists any approved products that are currently the subject of a Notice of Hearing and thus may not be used as a basis of an ANADA. Section six lists animal drug products whose approval has been voluntarily withdrawn by their sponsors since GADPTRA was enacted. Products listed in this section may be used as a basis of an ANADA if their withdrawal was not for safety or effectiveness reasons. Section seven lists the actions on ANADA suitability petitions that have been received by the FDA since the enactment of GADPTRA. Section eight is reserved for monthly updates.
- King Guide to Parenteral Admixtures King Guide is a database of intravenous drug information. For over 500 injectable drugs, it provides an at-a-glance view of compatibility in 12 fluids. It includes route, dosage, temperature, containers used to determine stability and compatibility, Y-site and syringe information, and more. It also allows you to select multiple drugs to view compatibility results. It also includes an appendix of parenteral fluids and their abbreviations. King Guide is regularly updated with new drugs and additional information about existing drugs. King Guide has been the standard source for intravenous drug information since 1971. This database is the electronic counterpart of the loose-leaf print edition of the King Guide.
- The Merck Index Merck Index is a source of information on chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. It includes substance monographs, named reactions, and reference tables. It is regularly updated with accurate information curated by chemistry and pharmacology experts. Subject covered include: Human and veterinary drugs Biotech drugs and monoclonal antibodies Substances used for medical imaging Biologicals and natural products Plant and herbal medicines Nutraceuticals and cosmeceuticals Laboratory reagents and catalysts Dyes, color, and indicators Environmentally significant substances Food additives and nutritional supplements Flavors and fragrances Agricultural chemicals, pesticides, and herbicides Industrial and specialty chemicals This is the electronic version of the print publication Merck Index.
- Merck Manual Find information on medical topics, symptoms, emergencies, drugs, procedures, news and more, written in everyday language, either by searching under main topics or by keyword search.
- Micromedex (Red Book) IBM Micromedex is a reference database for evidence-based drug, disease, and toxicology information. Rutgers University Libraries subscribes to the academic version of Micromedex and to the add-on tool Red Book, which provides drug manufacturer and pricing information. Red Book can be found in the “Other Tools” dropdown menu. Micromedex offers searching by drug, disease, or toxicology. In addition, the Ask Watson search uses artificial intelligence to produce answers to simple drug reference questions.
- Natural Medicines Natural Medicines contains evidence-based information about dietary supplements, herbal medicines, and complementary and integrative therapies. For each product or therapy, it includes common and colloquial names, brand names, scientific names, product uses, safety, effectiveness, description of known constituents, pharmacological actions, adverse reactions, possible interactions, any influence on nutrient levels and depletion in the body after use of the substance(s), dosage and administration, and reference citations. This information is designed for use in patient care, and the database includes patient handouts in English, Spanish, and French. The database also includes tools for checking interactions, effectiveness, nutrient depletion, pregnancy and lactation safety, and adverse effects.
- Prescribers' Desk Reference (Physicians' Desk Reference) PDR: Prescribers’ Digital Reference is a drug information reference source. For each drug, it features a detailed summary, including its classes, boxed warning, description, common brand names, method of supply, dosages and indications, storage, counterindications and precautions, adverse reactions, interactions, method of action, pharmacokinetics, and more. PDR also includes drug communications, which are timely news updates relevant to prescribers, including drug alerts, recalls, and approvals. This resource is the electronic counterpart and continuation of the print publication Physicians’ Desk Reference.
- UpToDate UpToDate is a point-of-care information resource which contains over 10,000 clinical topics representing 25 specialties. In addition to searching the entire resource or viewing Topics by Specialty, there are options to view the newest updates (What's New), Practice Changing Updates, Drug Information, and Patient Education information (which is available in English and Spanish). Other features include standard medical calculators, a drug interactions analysis tool, and an UpToDate for Anki add-on. Specialties included are: Allergy and Immunology Anesthesiology Cardiovascular Medicine Dermatology Emergency Medicine (Adult and Pediatric) Endocrinology and Diabetes Family Medicine and General Practice Gastroenterology and Hepatology General Surgery Geriatrics Hematology Hospital Medicine Infectious Diseases Nephrology and Hypertension Neurology Obstetrics, Gynecology and Women's Health Oncology Palliative Care Pediatrics Primary Care (Adult) Primary Care Sports Medicine (Adolescents and Adults) Psychiatry Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Rheumatology Sleep Medicine UptoDate is searchable in several languages, though its content is almost entirely in English. UpToDate is updated continuously with current medical information by expert physician authors, peer reviewers, and editors. Users must register for personal accounts to access the UpToDate mobile app or earn CME/CE/CPD credits. To register, follow the Connection Note instructions above. Any email address may be used to register. You may install the app on up to two devices. Only authorized Rutgers University users may access and/or download the UpToDate app. To earn continuing education credits, you must log in with your personal account every time you use UpToDate. UpToDate is accredited and recognized as a continuing education resource by numerous associations. To download the UpToDate for Anki add-on, log into UpToDate and, in the account dropdown, select UpToDate for Anki Add-On. Follow the instructions to install the add-on and open it in the latest version of Anki.
- UpToDate Lexidrug (Lexicomp) UpToDate Lexidrug is a drug referential platform that gives clinicians the information they need to make evidence-based drug decisions that address patients’ unique needs. It provides information about drug doses, mechanisms of action, drug interactions, adverse effects, and more. On the homepage, UpToDate Lexidrug allows you to easily search the entire platform for all content related to a drug. The homepage also allows you to view new drug approvals and view drug safety alerts. UpToDate Lexidrug also includes additional tools, such as the Trissel’s IV Compatibility, interactions analysis, a drug identification tool, patient education handouts in 20 languages, calculators, drug reports by adverse reactions, indications, and counterindications, and more. UpToDate Lexidrug is continuously updated with the most recent drug information. It is maintained by a team of over 7,000 clinicians from across disciplines and fields, including pharmacists, physicians, nurses, and medical technologists.
