Skip to Main Content
Rutgers University Library logo

Government Accounting: Company Information

Resources to help find information related to governmental accounting and financial management.

Rutgers Public Company Databases

  • Mergent Online, features information on public and private firms around the world, including historical background, up to 25 years of financials, details on debt and capital structure, Mergent's own equity research, and reports on insider and institutional owners. Includes a Supply Chain tab (formerly Mergent Horizon) covering over 6,000 actively traded U.S. public companies, it provides a 360 degree view of a company's competitors, suppliers, partners, and corporate customers, using a detailed hierarchical classification system for actual products and services. 
  • MarketLine contains thousands of company profiles, SWOT analyses, financial deals, and market share information. 
  • Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) includes a directory of over 14 million U.S. public and private companies. Includes internal links to subsidiary and parent companies, as well as lines of business, senior executives and their titles. Can be used to generate lists of prospects and competitors by industry, location, size and other parameters.

Historical Company Research

Westlaw Campus Research

Private Company Resources

  • PrivCo is an excellent resource for business and financial research on non-publicly traded companies, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed, and international unlisted companies. The database currently includes profiles for over 900,000 companies, 20,000 private equity and venture capital firms and investors, and 100,000 private market deals. 
  • Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) includes a directory of over 14 million U.S. public and private companies. Can be used to generate lists of prospects and competitors by industry, location, size and other parameters.