Skip to Main Content

Graphic Design Capstone: Language Layers

Digital Libraries

Library of Congress: Digital Collections
The Library of Congress site offers access to more than 9 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections of primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The collections include manuscripts, photographs, posters, maps, books, pamphlets, and sheet music, as well as sound recordings and motion pictures and can either be browsed or searched.
Digital Public Library of America
Over 40 million "images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States."
OAC: Online Archive of California
Detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.

Image Collections

Artstor
A digital image library of over 2 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Registering for a personal account will allow you to download images, save images into groups, share your groups with other Artstor users, view groups created by other users (such as collections set up by course instructors), add notes to individual images, set personal display options, and export citations. Rutgers-restricted Access
AMICA Library
Over 100,000 digital images of works of art held in museums. Rutgers-restricted Access
Flickr Commons
A large collection of historical photographs contributed by over 100 cultural institutions in 24 countries around the world. Images have no known copyright restrictions.
IADDB: International Advertising & Design Database
Includes posters, packaging designs, cover designs and television commercials, as well as promotional songs and sound bites.
Ad*Access
Search or browse over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Covers five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II. A project of the Digital Scriptorium, Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University.

Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
Over 9,000 images relating to the early history of advertising in the U.S. From collections in the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History at Duke University.
AdViews
Thousands of television commercials from the 1950s to the 1980s.
The Advertising Archives
Database of over 100,000 searchable images. You can also browse by category
ROAD: Resource of Outdoor Advertising Descriptions
Portal to over 31,000 outdoor advertising images.
RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.