Finding Articles
- This is a selected list of databases that you may find useful for finding articles on your topic. You can also check out the
complete list of Rutgers online indexes and databases.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Google Scholar
- Index to a wide range of scholarly, and other, literature. Often a good starting point, but it's not comprehensive and lacks advanced search features and filters (such as limits to "peer-reviewed" articles) so for serious research use other resources as well.
- ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection
- Index to over 10,000 social science titles, including journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and government publications; full-text access to over 1800 journals. International and interdisciplinary in scope. Includes the Worldwide Political Science and the Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS) databases. (Rutgers-restricted Access)
- JSTOR
- JSTOR provides electronic access to back runs, many back to the 19th century or earlier, of more than 2000 important scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines. JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; generally the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 3-5 years after the publishing date. Rutgers current access is to ten of the twelve JSTOR Arts and Sciences collections. Rutgers-restricted access
The Sciences
- Biological Science Collection
- Index to over 6000 journals in the biological sciences, including biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, zoology, and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Environment Abstracts
- A sub-set of the Environmental Science Index, Environment Abstracts indexes journals and other publications focusing on the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Natural Science Collection
- Index to the literature of the full-range of the natural sciences. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Toxline
- Index to literature relating to pharmacological, biochemical, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals, including environmental pollutants.Rutgers-restricted Access
Education Databases
- ProQuest Education Journals
- Index to more than 900 scholarly journals in the field of Education, along with trade journals and magazines. Approximately 600 titles are available full-text. Rutgers-restricted Access
- ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center
- The premier resource for educational research, the ERIC database contains more than one million abstracts covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education. 1966+ Rutgers-restricted Access
Sociology Database
- Sociological Abstracts 1963-
- Index to approximately 1800 scholarly and professional journals in sociology and related disciplines, as well as to books reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers. Rutgers-restricted Access.
History Databases
- Historical Abstracts
- 1955- . The most comprehensive index to world history (excluding that of the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Indexes over 2,000 history and history-related journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- America: History and Life
- 1964- . The most comprehensive index to American (U.S. and Canada) history. Indexes over 2000 journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Subject Guide
Natalie Borisovets
Contact:
185 University Avenue
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
Subjects: American Studies, Communication, Criminal Justice, History - Global & Eurasian, History - North America, Journalism & Media Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Literatures in English, New Jerseyana, Political Science, Social Work, Spanish & Portuguese Studies, Women's & Gender Studies