Cooperative Africana Materials Project (CAMP): The Cooperative Africana Materials Project (CAMP) was founded in 1963 as a joint effort by research libraries throughout the world and the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) to promote the preservation of publications and archives concerning the nearly fifty nations of Sub-Saharan Africa. CAMP acquires and preserves materials in microform and digital formats. CAMP collects newspapers, journals, government publications, personal and corporate archives, and the personal papers of scholars and government leaders. CAMP's materials are in many African and European languages, including Swahili, Portuguese, French, Zulu, Xhosa, English, and German.
The CAMP collection guide is available here. You can also search the Center for Research Libraries catalog to find CAMP holdings.
To request microfilm reels from the CAMP collection, use the Rutgers University Library Interlibrary Loan form.
Africa Commons is a platform for discovering African historical and cultural materials held by organizations around the world. It searches across over 250,000 documents from over 2,100 collections and over 600 organizations, including libraries, museums, and archives.
Apartheid South Africa: 1948-1988 An important resource for researching modern Africa and its recent history. It provides access to a wealth of primary sources regarding the United Kingdom’s Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices’ confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966. Materials includes reports, dispatches, correspondence, descriptions of leading personalities, economic analyses etc., also features 300 color maps.
Apartheid South Africa: 1948-1988 Digitized British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices documenting the apartheid era.
American Committee on Africa is a collection of digitized primary source materials documenting the work of the American Committee on Africa (ACOA) from 1953 through 1981. ACOA is a New York City-based American organization that sought to support independence and anti-colonial movements throughout Africa, as well as the anti-apartheid movement in South Africa. It also sought to raise awareness within the United States of political and humans rights issues in Africa
Black Women Writers Fiction, poetry, and essays written by black women authors from Africa, America, and the diaspora.
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 Digitized collection of formerly confidential British government documents about Africa. The original documents were produced by the Foreign and Colonial Offices.
Empire OnlineDigitized primary sources on the history of empires and empire building in the modern era, with primary emphasis on the British Empire. There are also materials on American imperialism.
Ancient Manuscripts from the Desert of Libraries Timbuktu
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
The Archival Platform (South Africa)
The African National Congress. (Includes document collections and several e-books)
Historical Papers held by the University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg
African Online Digital Library This is a portal to multimedia collections about Africa. Contains numerous digitized materials including handwritten texts, images and audio interviews from Senegal, Ghana and South Africa.
The African Studies Companion: A Guide to Information Sources. 4th ed. Hans Zell, and CecileLomer. ALEX REF DT19.8.Z45
French colonial Africa : a guide to official sources / Gloria D. Westfall. London; New York : Hans Zell Publishers, 1992. ALEX REF DT532.W47 1992
A guide to original sources for precolonial western Africa published in European languages : for the most part in book form / by J.D. Fage. [Madison] : African Studies Program, University of Wisconsin--Madison, 1994. ALEX REF Z3516.5.F34 1994
Guide to Non-Federal Archives and Manuscripts in the United States Relating to Africa. Vols.1-2. Aloha South, comp. New York: Hans Zell Publishers, 1989. ALEX REF CD3002.S68
The making of modern Africa : a guide to archives / compiled by Chris Cook. New York : Facts on File, c1995. ALEX STACKS Z3508.H5C66 1995
Reference guide to Africa : a bibliography of sources / edited by Alfred Kagan. 2nd ed. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2005. ALEX REF Z3501.K15 2005
Sub-Saharan Africa : a guide to information sources / W. A. E. Skurnik. Detroit : Gale Research Co., c1977. ALEX STACKS Z3501 .S55
Sources and methods in African history : spoken, written, unearthed / edited by Toyin Falola and Christian Jennings. Rochester, NY : University of Rochester Press, 2004. ALEX DT19.S68 2004