In addition to these databases, please see other thematic databases relating specifically to your topic (Education, Women and Gender Studies, Religioun, etc.)
Africa-Wide: NiPAD (16th C to present but mostly 19th C)
multidisciplinary index to research and publications by Africans and about Africa. Produced by NISC South Africa, it combines dozens of databases sourced from Africa, Europe and North America. The subject areas covered include agriculture, art, biodiversity, culture, development, drama, economics, health, history, industry, law, literature, mining, music, natural resources, politics, religion, sports, and more.
Material Types: books, journals, current research, popular magazines, reviews, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, government publications, grey literature, maps, reports, theses and dissertations, and music recordings. Some publications include external links to full text, but for most publications, the database includes indexing and abstracts only.
SciELO South Africa (2002-present)
SciELO Citation Index is an index of over 1,000 open access journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, Portugal, and South Africa. It was developed by Clarivate in collaboration with SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online), a program of the São Paulo Research Foundation for the cooperative publishing of open access journals. It covers a wide variety of subjects, including agriculture, arts, biology, engineering, earth sciences, health sciences, human sciences, linguistics, literature, mathematics, physics, social sciences, and more. The database is searchable in English and the native language of each publication.
eHRAF World Cultures (Human Relations Area Files)
SA ePublications Social Sciences & Humanities Collection
A selected list of African newspapers available on microfilm at Rutgers University Libraries can be found here.
You may also request historical newspapers on microfilm through CAMP (Cooperative African Microfilm Project). The collection guide is available here. You can also search the Center for Research Libraries catalog to find CAMP holdings. To request microfilm reels from the collection, use the Rutgers University Library Interlibrary Loan form.
African Journals Online (Open Access)
the indexing platform of quality African-published scholarly journals, is a Non-Profit Organisation that (since 1998) works to increase global & continental online access, awareness, quality & use of African-published, peer-reviewed research. Covers climate, development, education and more.
African Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database
AfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles, presented in one easily accessible location on the internet. It is the culmination of over forty years of Africana research. The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Africana Periodical Literature) and African Women's literature (African Women). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa). In June 2012 two bibliographies were added, one on Islam in Africa, compiled by Paul Schrijver, the other on the Kenya Coast, compiled by Jan Hoorweg. In July 2014 Water and Africa was added. Followed in September 2017 by Education in Africa. Search by country and region.