Skip to Main Content

Imagery and Culture

News Media

American History in Video
Digitized documentaries, newsreel films, and archival footage. Includes certain television broadcasts, such as the Chronoscope series, that ran from 1951 to 1955, as well as interviews with prominent journalists.   Rutgers-restricted Access
TV-NewsSearch: The Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Online access to NBC and CNN news broadcasts from August 1968 to the present. In addition, the database provides indexing for nightly news programs broadcast by the other national television networks, ABC and CBS; abstracts of each story within a regular news program are fully searchable. Rutgers-restricted Access
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Over 31,000 digitized programs (1940s to the 21st century) selected by more than 100 public broadcasting stations throughout the nation. A joint project of the Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston.
Newspaper Source Plus
A collection of current (late 20th century to the present) news sources from around the world, including over 1200 full-text newspapers, 150 newswires, news magazines, television and radio transcripts, news video clips, and more. Television and radio news transcript sources include ABC News (United States), ABC (Australia), CBC (Canada), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, NPR, and PBS. Rutgers-restricted Access
C-Span Video Library
Digital version of every C-Span program aired since 1987. Programs are indexed by subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, keywords, and location. The congressional sessions and committee hearings are indexed by person.
Internet Archive TV News
Launched in September 2012, this research library service repurposes closed captioning to enable users to search, quote and borrow U.S. TV news programs.
Television News of the Civil Rights Era 1950-1970
"Films from the nightly news from two local television stations in Virginia--WDBJ (CBS) Roanoke and WSLS (NBC) Roanoke...Includes full speeches of Martin Luther King, Jr., John F. Kennedy, Richard M. Nixon, the governors of the Commonwealth of Virginia, as well as original footage of school desegregation, public meetings, local debates over civil rights matters, and interviews with citizens."
Free Speech TV
A "national, independent news network committed to advancing progressive social change."
Democracy Now!
"One of the leading U.S.-based independent daily news broadcasts in the world."
Rutgers University Libraries
169 College Ave
New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1163

Contact Us Giving to the Libraries

Staff Resources

About Rutgers University Libraries
Contact the Libraries
RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.