The books in the above box are part of the library collection and available to Rutgers students. Click on the book image to access the book's bibliographic record in the catalog. Most books are in electronic format. The book Japanese Pioneers in the Northern Philippine Highlands (print only), is in the process of being cataloged for Alexander Library. The book Philippine Cartoons is not in our collection but can be requested from other libraries. The request form is here. There is no charge for this service.
East Asia Image Collection of Lafayette College is an open-access archive of digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, rare books. It documents the history of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52). Images of Taiwan, Japan, China, Korea, Manchuria, and Indonesia are included.
Fanning the Flames: Propaganda in Modern Japan from Hoover Institution presents images used in national and colonial propaganda to reach and influence broad audiences.The project encompasses Meiji Era to the end of World War II.
Treasures of Cotsen Collection - Japanese Game Boards created by Princeton University Library includes Japanese game boards published from the 19th century through the 1950s. The images display political values and aesthetics of the time and includes military propaganda and Japanese imperial aspirations alongside commercial advertising and literacy education targeting children and adults alike.
Unpinning History: Japanese Posters in the Age of Commercialism, Imperialism, and Modernism highlights USC Libraries' unique collection of Japanese posters that were produced in the 1910s and 1920s. The collection illuminates the aesthetics and visual culture of Japan and its colonies, including Korea and Northeastern China.
Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to firstname.lastname@example.org or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.