Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Asia-Pacific in Cross-Cultural Perspective

This research guide includes resources for the students in the course Asia-Pacific in Cross-Cultural Perspective (01:098:345) with Professor Haruko Wakabayashi (Spring 2022).

Quicksearh, our catalog

QuickSearch

Submit Search

Relevant Databases [Rutgers restricted]

America History and Life indexes scholarly literature on the United States and Canadian history.

Area Studies: Japan is a collection of digitized primary source documents, from a Western perspective, depicting the political, social, and cultural history of Japan from the 1400s to the 20th century. The section Japan Through Western Eyes includes journals, printed articles, etc. of the  William Elliot Griffis (1843-1928) Collection .

Asian Films Online is a collection of narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts offering a view of contemporary Asian culture and society through the works of the independent Asian filmmakers.

Asia Studies full-text Online is a portal that provides access to reports, working paper series, and journals from Asia's most prestigious research institutions, such as this article bu Susan A. Brewer. "Selling Empire: American Propaganda War in the Philippines." Asia Pacific Journal 11, 40:1 (October 1, 2013).

Bibliography of Asian Studies is a major multi-disciplinary index for the study of East, Southeast, and South Asia. It includes citation to Western language works published worldwide on all subjects.

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index is an index with more than 20 million records for books, periodical and newspaper articles, government publications, and archival collections. It is probably the most comprehensive resource for locating English language material printed in the 19th Century.

Cambridge Histories is a series of reference works published by Cambridge University Press. Subject matter ranges widely across the humanities and social sciences, with concentrations in political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music, and the arts.

HathiTrust Digital Library includes millions of books, government publications, dissertations, journals, and other published and unpublished materials digitized from collections in libraries around the world. HathiTrust includes three different types of materials: Temporary Access, Full View, and Limited (search-only). We currently have the "Temporary Access" due to mostly remote teaching.  Read the "Temporary Access" section to understand how you can access the material.

Historical Abstracts indexes scholarly literature covering world history from the 15th century to the present. It covers all countries and regions, excluding the United States and Canada.

Meiji Japan is a collection of digitized primary sources from the Edward Sylvester Morse Collection at the Peabody Essex Museum in Salem, Massachusetts. Morse (1838-1925), who taught science at the University of Tokyo, was one of the first Americans to live in Japan and to document life in Japan. Dates covered: 1856-1925.

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.