GLOBAL ASIAS

Chinese relief workers in Siangyang (Xiangyang) [China]. November 20, 1943. From Central China Relief Records, 1943-1947.

DC-Cam: Documentation Center of Cambodia is an independent Cambodian Institute documents the atrocities of Khmer Rouge, focusing on memory and justice. For more information on the Center, please contact:  Sodavy Un.

The digital collections below have been developed by the Rutgers University Libraries. Click on this link to see additional digital collections.

Central China Relief Records, 1943-1947 consists of office files from the UN Relief and Rehabilitation Administration (UNRRA)) regional office in central China. UNRRA was an international agency founded in 1943 to plan, coordinate, and administer relief programs for victims of World War II in areas under the control of the United Nations. The collection was presumably assembled by Rose Galaida (1894-1984), a Rutgers graduate who worked at the UNRRA Hubei Regional Office.

China Boom Project – a Video Archive includes interviews of over 100 influential experts on China who provided their answers to the question “Why did China Boom?" The interviews were collected by the Asia Society between 2008 and 2010.

eBethArke: The Syriac Digital Library is a collaboration of Beth Mardutho Syriac Institute and the Rutgers University Libraries. It provides digital resources and tools to pursue the study of this ancient legacy globally.

Seabrook Collection in the New Jersey Digital Highway showcases historical resources on Seabrook Farms in Cumberland County, New Jersey where 2,500 people of Japanese descent relocated from the internment campus during the WWII. The collection includes photographs, pamphlets, monographs, etc. most of them created the the Seabrook Farms Publicity Department. The artifacts are on display at the Seabrook Educational and Cultural Center. 

South Asia Open Archive is an open access collection of digitized primary source materials from and about South Asia. It includes materials in the arts, humanities, and social sciences in English and other languages of the region.

William Elliot Griffis Collection, a unique scholarly resource, consists of material collected by William Elliot Griffis (RC 1869), a writer and educator in Meiji Japan. It documents the experience of Westerners in Japan, the roots of Japanese-American relations, and the special friendship between Japan and Rutgers during the Meiji period (1868-1912). The finding aid has the listing of the material in the collection.