GLOBAL ASIAS

CHINESE DIASPORA

Museum of Chinese in America, established in 1980 in NYC, celebrates the living history of the Chinese experience in America by preserving and presenting the 200-year history, heritage, culture, and diverse experiences of American communities of Chinese descent. Founded as a community-based organization, MOCA has over a period of four decades maintained our community centrality while gaining a national following of visitors and members.

FILIPINO DIASPORA

Filipino Cannery Unionism Across Three Generations, 1930s-1980s is a component of the "Seattle Civil Rights Labor History Project." Activists from Seattle's Filipino American civil rights and labor movements discussed their experiences in videotaped oral histories. The links below lead to brief personal biographies and streaming-video excerpts of each interview.

National Federation of Filipino American Associations. Since 1997, the National Federation of Filipino American Associations promotes the welfare and well-being of the four million Filipinos and Filipino Americans throughout the United States. As a non-partisan and non-profit organization, NaFFAA is the largest national affiliation of Filipino American institutions, umbrella organizations, and individuals. Its fifteen-member regions cover the continental United States, Alaska, Hawaii, and the Pacific Islands.

JAPANESE DIASPORA

Japanese American Citizen's League is a national organization whose mission is to secure and safeguard the civil and human rights of Asian and Pacific Islander Americans and all communities who are affected by injustice and bigotry. The lJACL also work to promote and preserve the heritage and legacy of the Japanese American Community. The site also includes the digital archives of the organization's newsletter Pacific Citizen (formerly The Nikkei Shimin) from the first issue dated October 15,1929.

Densho is a grassroots organization dedicated to preserving, educating, and sharing the story of World War II-era incarceration of Japanese Americans in order to deepen understandings of American history and inspire action for equity. Online education center featuring multidisciplinary curriculum, instructional guides, and primary source material that allow teachers and students to connect with the lived experiences of Japanese Americans.

KOREAN DIASPORA

Council of Korean Americans is a national nonprofit organization. Our mission is to advance the national voice and influence of the Korean American community through collaboration and leadership development.

National Association of Korean Americans was founded in 1994 as a non-profit, civil and human rights organization of concerned Korean Americans.

SOUTH ASIAN DIASPORAS

The South Asian Oral History Project at the University of Washington Libraries record pan-South Asian immigrant experiences in the Pacific Northwest using the medium of oral history. This initiative preserves the history of South Asian immigration to the region, but also makes these historical resources/material available to everyone. Oral histories of immigrants from Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka are featured in the collection.

VIETNAMESE DIASPORA

Viet Stories: Vietnamese American Oral History Project at UC Irvine captures the oral histories of first generation Vietnamese Americans who have memories of life in Vietnam, the Vietnam War, and the displacement and resettlement of refugees from Vietnam, preserving their stories for future generations.

Asociación Japonesa en la Argentina is the first Japanese organization in Argentina dedicated to the maintainance  and diffusion of the Japanese language, culture and the arts among Argentine citizens.

Associación Peruano Japonesa thrives to celebrate the history of Japanese immigration in Peru and to develop activities to promote Japaese culture. It was established in 1917 as Sociedad Central Japonesa (Chuo Nihonjinkai).

Museu Histórico da Imigração Japonesa no Brasil, inaugurated in 1978, presents and preserves the history of 112 years of Japanese immigration in Brazil. It is located in "Japan Town" section of São Paulo city. Its archival collection includes a range of primary source material, photographs, artifacts, and a complete run of Japanese Brazilian newspapers.

Natal Indian Association in Natal, South Africa, was formed when the Natal Indian Congress and the Colonial Born and Settlers Indian Association amalgamated.

The information below is courtesy of Eri Kitada, Rutgers University.

Annual Philippines Studies Forum in Japan (APSF) is a Japan-based organization of Philippine Studies established by graduate students in Japan around 1995. Its membership includes scholars, people working for non-governmental organizations, communities, and individuals based in Japan, in the Philippines, and in the United States.The Website is in English and Japanese.

Philippines Nikkeijin Legal Support Center was established in 2003, as a direct outcome of centennial anniversary of Japanese immigration to the Philippines. Based in Tokyo, Japan, and Manila, the Philippines, the organization provides legal and emotional support to Philippine Nikkei-jin (Japanese descent) who were stricken with hardships during World War II and turmoil in the subsequent era.

The scholars affiliated with the APFS have identified a collection of videos that belongs to Matsui famlly, a prosperous Japanese family and owner of prominent businesses and grocery stores in Manila, Cebu and Davao before the WWII. This Asahi Shimbun article (in Japanese) presents select images from the collection. The article below in Manila Shimbun, a Philippines-based Japanese language newspaper, also includes images from the Matsui collection.

Located at the University of Warwick, United Kingdom, the Indo-Caribbean Studies Association promotes scholarship and publications on the history and culture of people of Indian origin in the Caribbean, and their cross-cultural relationships with other communities in the region.