Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Folklore Resources: Other Resources

This is a general guide to folklore resources

Societies and Centers

Many states have folklore societies, and universities with programs in folklore will have research centers or archives relating to folklore. New Jersey does not have a statewide society or center, but there are regional folklore / folklife organizations, and smaller research collections at a variety of institutions, including Rutgers.

Other Resources

These are just a selection of other resources available through Rutgers or on the web, that might be useful in Folklore research.

eHRAF World Cultures is a collection of information on cultures and ethnic groups from all regions of the world. This database may be used to find information on specific cultures, ethnic groups, or immigrant groups, and it may be also used to find information on a variety of anthropological, sociological, and cultural topics, such as architecture, economic structure, kinship units, language, religion, settlement patterns, and sociopolitical organization. For each culture, eHRAF contains a variety of documents, such as books, articles, monographs, and dissertations. Folklore is one of the search categories in this database.

Ethnographic Video Online includes hundreds of films from many regions of the world. The films have various themes, such as language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.

The American Folklore Society Ethnographic Thesaurus (version 2.3) is a vocabulary that can be used to improve access to information about folklore, ethnomusicology, ethnology, and related fields. The American Folklore Society developed the Thesaurus in cooperation with the American Folklife Center of the Library of Congress and supported by a generous grant from the Scholarly Communications Program of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

American Folklore Society includes important links on their resources tab, as well as general information on the subject and the organization.

The American Folklore Center at the Library of Congress also has links to very useful information, both primary and secondary sources.

Contact Info

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.