Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Folklore Resources: Journal Indexes

This is a general guide to folklore resources

Important Journals in Folklore

Journal of Folklore Research

Journal of American Folklore

Western Folklore

Folklore

Folklore and Folkloristics

FF Network for the Folklore Fellows

Southern Folklore

Children's Folklore Review

Indexes to Journals and Other Resources

The search box on the main Libraries page will search through many, if not most, of the resources the library has, but at times it is better to search an individual database. Here are some that are relevant to folklore research.

MLA International Bibliography is an index of scholarship on all aspects of modern languages and literature, including folklore. It indexes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, scholarly websites, and other materials. It includes over 2.8 million citations, and over 66,000 are added each year. The database is international in scope, with citations in over 60 languages. It covers literature from all over the world. Coverage for some materials start in the 1880's.

AnthroSource is a collection of all past and current publications of the American Anthropological Association, including journals, newsletters, bulletins, and conference proceedings. This includes the entire publication history of each title; the earliest journals in the collection date back to the late 19th century. In total, the collection contains over 300,000 full-text articles.

Anthropology Plus combines into one index the highly respected Anthropological Literature database from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute of the UK. Fields covered include social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, archaeology, art history, ethnology, folklore, material culture, religion, and more. Content types indexed include journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries. All core anthropology periodicals are included, and so are many local and lesser-known journals. The majority of the database is in English. Coverage for some materials starts in the 18th century.

JSTOR is a platform for journals, books, and primary sources in a wide variety of subject areas in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. On JSTOR, Rutgers has purchased a variety of ebooks and subscribes to an assortment of current journals. Rutgers has also purchased several journal archives collections. Some are accessible full text, others are not. Coverage varies, some starting in the 18th century, most current journals have a moving wall, with the most current materials not accessible in this database.

Project Muse is a platform for scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Fields covered include cultural studies, economics, education, gender studies, history, political science, literature and literary criticism, visual and performing arts, and many others.

The Libraries subscribe to a large number of other databases that also be useful. You can see the full list here.

Contact Info

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.