Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Topics in Companion Animal Issues: Animals and Health: Finding Resources

Research guide for students of the class Topics in Companion Animal Issues: Animals and Health at SEBS.

A Sampling of Books from QuickSearch - Select the Book Cover to Go to the Record and Access the EBook

Selecting Databases

Other than QuickSearch, which searches across multiple databases simultaneously, Rutgers subscribes to many databases appropriate for your research topic. Rutgers off-campus users will require authentication using NetID when accessing restricted resources.

Is your topic multidisciplinary? Need database suggestions? Get help from RUL.

Retrieving Full Text Articles

Rutgers has many databases that provide the full text of an article (linked pdf or html), while others provide only citations or abstracts. In that case, there are still several options for you to get the full text.

  • If you don't see the PDF icon or  linking to the  full text of an article, click the  Get it @ R button. If the article is available via Rutgers, you will gain access.
  • If the article is not available at Rutgers, you will be able to request an electronic copy through an "Article Delivery" link in the database.
  • If that doesn't seem to be an option, you can copy and paste the title of the article into QuickSearch. You have to be logged in with your NetID to see your access or delivery options.
  • If the title doesn't show up, try checking the Expand My Search box to get to the record  from another library and an Articllet Delivery button..It will autopopulate the interlibrary loan form for you.
  • Alternatively, you can place an Article Delivery request via the form.
  • You may want to check for access in Google Scholar via the Rutgers link, too. If Rutgers has access, it will come up in the results.
  • If all fails, you can always ask a librarian for help.

Suggested Databases

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.