Biology
Guide to library resources in the field of Biology
Dictionaries & Glossaries
- Biology Online - DictionaryThis is a completely open and editable dictionary which utilizes a WiKi concept, so that any user can make a contribution.
- MeSH - Medical Subject HeadingsThe National Library of Medicine's (NLM) online thesaurus provides definitions of all of the terms used in its indexing vocabulary as well as directing the user to other potentially useful search terms.
- National Cancer Institute (NCI) Dictionary of Genetics TermsThe NCI Dictionary of Genetics Terms contains technical definitions for more than 200 terms related to genetics.
- Talking Glossary of Genetic TermsThe Talking Glossary features more than 250 common genetic terms pronounced and explained in an easy-to-understand way by leading scientists and professionals at the National Human Genome Research Institute. In addition to definitions, specialists in the field of genetics share their descriptions of terms, and many terms include images, animation and links to related terms.
Online Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Life SciencesAn illustrated encyclopedia with articles on agriculture, anatomy, biochemistry, biology, genetics, medicine, and molecular biology.
Encyclopedia of Systems Biology by ISBN: 1441998624Publication Date: 2013-06-05The Encyclopedia of Systems Biology is conceived as a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of systems biology, in particular the investigation of living matter involving a tight coupling of biological experimentation, mathematical modeling and computational analysis and simulation. The main goal of the Encyclopedia is to provide a complete reference of established knowledge in systems biology - a 'one-stop shop' for someone seeking information on key concepts of systems biology. As a result, the Encyclopedia comprises a broad range of topics relevant in the context of systems biology. The audience targeted by the Encyclopedia includes researchers, developers, teachers, students and practitioners who are interested or working in the field of systems biology. Keeping in mind the varying needs of the potential readership, we have structured and presented the content in a way that is accessible to readers from wide range of backgrounds.
