Biography (Electronic Reference Sources)

Based on the 1919, 10th edition, of Bartlett's, this site offers a keyword search interface, plus a Chronologic Index of Primary Authors, an Alphabetic Index of All Authors, and a Concordance Index to Quotations.

Browse more than 25,000 quotes by author or topic.

Popular speeches and audio clippings that include presidential, war, civil rights, sports, and space exploration speeches.

Popular quotes from Goodreads members that can be sorted by tags.

A searchable and continuously updated version of the definitive English language dictionary on word origins and usage. Allows searching of the entire text of the dictionary including words used in the definitions, etymologies, and illustrative quotations; authors of quotations; and full phrases.

Includes more than 12,000 quotations from over 3,000 authors.

Includes the meanings and origins of thousands of English sayings, phrases, idioms and expressions. Broken down into proverbs, American phrases, phrases coined by Shakespeare, nautical phrases, and phrases from the Bible, the site can be browsed or searched.

The official series of Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature. Messages and papers of the Presidents from 1789 to the most currently available are also accessible via the American Presidency Project; papers from 1929 forward are available from the University of Michigan Digital Library.

Searchable collection of digital versions of standard quotation resources, most from the late 1800s and early 1900s.

Searchable collection of works by and about William Shakespeare; including Bartlett's Shakespeare Quotations and the 1914 Oxford edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare.

The annual TED conferences bring together the world's most fascinating thinkers and doers, who are challenged to give the talk of their lives (in 18 minutes or less).

"A free online compendium of sourced quotations from notable people and creative works in every language, translations of non-English quotes, and links to Wikipedia for further information."

Links to the full-text of some of the most significant orations by African Americans. From BlackPast.org.

Includes the "Online Speech Bank," a database of and index to more than 5,000 full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two.

Includes a searchable database of award winners and nominees with a separate section for browsing statistics, as well as a database of acceptance speeches.

A collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period.

Unofficial transcripts of most presidential and vice presidential debates from 1960 to the present.

Part of Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost), the site provides full-text searching of all speeches included in the periodical from June 1996 to October 2005.

A collection of over 40,000 hours of spoken word recordings, dating back to 1888. The collection includes the voices of over 100,000 persons from all walks of life including Presidents, cultural leaders, and others.

Aims to create a significant, fully searchable online database of spoken word collections spanning the 20th century. "Galleries" include History and Politics Out Loud, Oyez: U.S. Supreme Court Media, Earliest Voices, and more.

Searchable text of the inaugural addresses for every president.

Select the "Genres" option to find "Spoken Word" content including political speeches, humorous monologues, dramatic scenes, and literary readings.

Not searchable, but includes transcripts of key speeches and news conferences given by the Secretary General and other NATO Officials.

An extensive collection of links to full-text speech sites on the Web.

Includes presidential recordings, speeches, oral histories, biographical information, and more.

An "anthology of African American political oratory designed for the ear and the eye".

Full text speeches from 2006 to the present, some including video. Speeches from 1996 to 2006 are available in an archive.

Provides citation or full-text searches of speeches made in the United Nations beginning with 1946.

Part of Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost), the site provides full-text searching of all speeches included in the periodical since its inception in 1934.

Provides factual information on U.S. political leaders, including the President, Congress, Governors, and State Legislators. Includes facts, issue positions, voting records, ratings, speeches, and more.

Searchable full-text version of the 1906 volume containing 281 speeches.