Books We Read: Recreational Reading
Find Books in Libraries Nearby and in Social Media
A selection of books to browse on social media platforms:
Recommended to check availability in nearby libraries and to locate more titles:
Shelf Help
Do you need help choose what to read next? Browse this guide or ask a librarian! We are happy to provide book recommendations.
Librarians often find themselves in the role of the "accidental bibliotherapist." Interested to find out if reading can you? Check out the Bibliotherapy guide for more on the use of books and guided reading in difficult times.
Books We Read: Staff Picks
Looking for something to read? The Books We Read staff selected some of their favorite titles and shared their reading experience in blog posts. Many of them are available in the collections of the Rutgers University Libraries, in addition to the RecRead collection at Carr.
- Books We Read Staff PicksBook recommendations from Rutgers librarians and students since 2019.
Book Reviews
- BooklistAmerican Library Association publication that provides critical reviews of books and audiovisual materials for all ages.
- BookPageReviews of new books across all genres as chosen by BookPage editors. Starred titles indicate a book that is exceptional in its genre or category.
- BookReporterFeatures book reviews, in-depth author profiles and interviews, excerpts of new releases, contests and more every week.
- Independent Book ReviewReviews, blog posts and interviews of small press and self-published books.
- Kirkus ReviewsAmerican book review magazine containing book reviews, recommendations, and literary news across many genres.
- Literary HubSite featuring various aspects of literary culture. Book reviews are featured in the BookMarks section.
- The New York Times Book ReviewWeekly supplement to the Sunday edition of The New York Times that provides reviews of current non-fiction and fiction books.
- NPRCurrent news on books and authors, NPR staff picks, interviews and reviews.
- Publisher's WeeklyInternational news website of book publishing and bookselling including reviews and bestseller lists across all genres.
Popular Media
Looking for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper?
Use the Journal Search to search by title or ISSN and see whether we have access for a particular title and date range.
If you're having trouble locating a newspaper, consult our newspapers guide.
Specific databases that may be of interest include:
- FactivaCollection of major global newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts.
- Music Magazine ArchiveCollection of magazines focused on 20th and 21st century music genres such as rock, folk, hip-hop, and rap.
- Vanderbilt Television News ArchiveIndex of news broadcasts by national television networks, including ABC, CBS, Fox News, and NBC, with streaming video for NBC and CNN broadcasts.
- The Vogue ArchiveDigitized collection of every issue of Vogue from 1892 to the previous month.