CREATE at The Rutgers University Libraries- New Brunswick
Printing Worksheet
side two
Printing Video with Tara Maharjan
Woodblock images from Special Collections and University Archives
Woodblock with a print.
Wood Block and Graver. For Bowne & Co. workshop on wood engraving by John Depol, undated.
Wood Blocks and Engraving Tools by John Depol, 1982.
Fourth Avenue Bookstore by John Depol, undated.
Hypothetical reconstruction of Johann Gutenberg's printing press by John Depol, 1994
Woodblock and engraving tools from the George Howes Whittle Engraving Collection.
Woodblock from Vertigo by Lynd Ward.
Woodblock from Vertigo by Lynd Ward.
Woodblock from Vertigo by Lynd Ward.
Lynd Ward's name woodblock.
Print from Vertigo by Lynd Ward.
Print from Vertigo by Lynd Ward.
Woodcut print of De Saturno from "Arati Solensis Phoenomena et prognostica," circa 1570.
Woodcut print from "The Ship that Tom Built," circa 1800.
Chapbook Collections at Rutgers Special Collections and University Archives
Printing Collections at Rutgers Special Collections and University Archives
-
John Depol CollectionArtist and printmaker John DePol (1914-2004) had a career spanning 50 years in wood engraving and printing. He produced etchings, prints, pamphlets and book illustrations in a style that became the signature look of the American press book. This collection primarily consists of proofs and prints of wood engravings by DePol. Also included are etchings, paintings, correspondence, exhibition announcements, miscellaneous documents, woodblocks and ephemera, as well as publications and other texts that feature his work or were collected by DePol.
-
Lynd Ward CollectionLynd Ward (1905-1985) was a graphic novelist and illustrator of over a hundred children’s books and literary classics. The collection consists of 355 wood engraving blocks by Lynd Ward, including 233 blocks from his wordless novel Vertigo, 9 from Ward's illustrations for Frankenstein, 77 related to a wordless novel that remained unfinished at Ward's death and 36 miscellaneous blocks. These blocks are accompanied by eight prints, four of which correspond to images in Vertigo as it was published and five which were not used in the novel.
-
Winifred Milius Lubell CollectionWinifred Milius Lubell (1914-2012) was an artist and book illustrator whose artistic work in watercolors and drawings, woodblocks and etchings is represented both in individual works and in illustrations for numerous books. This collection primarily consists of examples of her artistic output, prints, drawings and watercolors. Also included are sketchbooks, woodblocks for many of the prints, draft illustrations for her book Metamorphosis of Baubo and research studies for her project on marginalia in medieval books.
-
George Howes Whittle Engraving CollectionThis collection consists of late 19th century woodblocks, engraving tools and ephemera constructed by George Howes Whittle, an engraver and biographer of Timothy Cole, as a teaching collection in the early 20th century.