Politics of Environmental Issues
Related Guides
- NewspapersA guide to many newspaper sites with online searchable archives, as well as to physical collections of newspapers.
- Business NewsSome of the many business-related electronic news sources available on the Internet.
- Current EventsLinks to various types of consumer information, current event, and popular culture sites.
- Federal GovernmentA rich source of information on how to find information related to the federal government.
- Congressional ResearchA guide to locating print and online materials from the United States Congress.
- Research Regulatory AffairsFederal, NJ, and other states regulatory affairs, NGOs, think tanks, and more.
- FactivaA comprehensive guide to Factiva
Science Librarian on Cook/Douglass
Liaison to the Center of Alcohol Studies
Welcome
Welcome! This guide aims to help students of the course Politics of Environmental Issues taught at the Department of Human Ecology, SEBS, use the resources provided by Rutgers University Libraries to write their course papers on a current environmental issue after the library session.
Quick Links: Databases
- Access World NewsYour main source of news: Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts.
- FactivaSearch the full text of 14,000 leading business newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts. Browse the headlines and text of major magazines and newspapers from around the world.
- Ethnic NewsWatchInterdisciplinary full-text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses. Over 2.5 million articles from more than 300 publications a wide range of viewpoints not offered in the mainstream press.
- CQ ResearcherWeekly reports produced by the well-regarded Washington reporting service Congressional Quarterly Inc.
- ProQuest Environmental Science CollectionEnvironmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles,
Help!!
Frequently Asked Questions: If you want to start looking up what others have already asked
BEST for short answers, finding a solution to move on or how to continue troubleshooting.
EXAMPLES: finding quick help related to RUL practices, policies, and resources, or finding guidance and instructions on how to proceed and whom to contact, with options to do that.
Chat: There are librarians online 24 hours a day, 365 days a year
BEST for instant answers, brief interactions, short troubleshooting.
EXAMPLES: asking for quick help, locating or downloading full text of a known article, reporting or verifying an error, clarifying a minor detail, help to decide what database to use, short literature search, etc.
Email: Send questions to a team of librarians and library staff via email. Most questions get a response within 24 hours!
BEST for complex questions, troubleshooting that require access to borrowing records
EXAMPLES: questions on research, collections, and library sessions; troubleshooting requests such as on reserves and library accounts
Direct help from a librarian: schedule a meeting with a subject specialist
BEST for complex questions, troubleshooting that require more time
EXAMPLES: discussing library instruction for your course, finding resources for your class
Research Guides: Our subject research guides will help you find a wealth of information on your topic
BEST for general overview, orientation, finding basic resources
EXAMPLES: identify databases for a topic, find resources for a paper, check citation styles
Find Library Materials The stuff everyone wants to know how to do!
BEST for finding, accessing, and requesting materials
EXAMPLES: articles, books, data & stats, course materials, and video
How to Spot Fake News
