Human Ecology

1. QuickSearch: Use the citation symbol in the record and select APA Style 7th edition.

• BEST for: articles found in QuickSearch, scholarly article found elsewhere, newspaper artciles
• TIP: paste the title in quotes in QuickSearch, check k the Expand My Search box on the right to search for the record in libraries other than Rutgers

2. Databases: Look for a CITE option. E.g., in the ProQuest databases, select the article and click on the citation symbol in the top right corner (currently providing APA Style 6th edition)

• BEST for: saving instant citations for articles found in the particular database, including newspaper articles in many
• ALTERNATIVES: QuickSearch, Google Scholar, manuallly

3. Google Scholar: preferably from the RUL link. Use the citation symbol below the record and select APA Style.

• BEST for: scholarly articles found anywhere.
• TIP: paste the title in quotes in Google Scholar

4. Manual editing: Always double check the citations generated by any of the above methods! Use the OWL from Purdue or the APA Handbook online.

• BEST for: anything and everything, if you want that A+ for your paper!!
• TIP: use it for web sites and other primary documents

See more from Purdue OWL on how to format your references, including a detailed list with APA Style citation examples with the most relevant examples to your paper.

With a research and bibliographic management tool such as RefWorks or EndNote, you can

• collect information (citations and full text articles) from online databases and websites by importing or entering manually 
• organize, customize, and store above information in folders and subfolders, including  reading, highlighting, and annotating documents
• add in-text citations and footnotes to a paper directly from your RefWorks library
• create and format a bibliography of works cited in a variety of citation styles
• share documents to collaborate with other researchers

Plagiarism is a major concern at every level in education and publishing. Rutgers has several resources to help you avoid it, including the Rutgers Academic Integrity Policy.