Food Systems

Provides agricultural data with an economic focus (e.g., prices, commodity markets, agricultural income, etc.).

Provides a directory to credible, accurate, and practical resources for consumers, nutrition and health professionals, educators, and government personnel.Including links to information on dietary guidance, food safety, and other topics.

"An integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research."

The scope of the NALDC includes Items published by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) and clearly intended for public consumption; scholarly and peer-reviewed research outcomes authored by USDA employees while working for USDA; and other items selected in accordance with the subjects identified in the NAL Collection Development Policy.

"NIFA collaborates with leading scientists, policymakers, experts, and educators in organizations throughout the world to find innovative solutions to the most pressing local and global problems." In addition to grant information, the site includes factsheets, reports, and other resources.

A portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research including citations and some full-text.

"The Food and Drug Safety Program regulates food, drug, and cosmetic safety and provides information to consumers and the regulated industry."

the Division administers programs such as the Child Nutrition Program (CNP), Commodity Food Distribution Program, The Emergency Food Assistance Program (TEFAP), and others.

In addition to promoting agriculture and agribusiness industries, the department also manages programs that: feed schoolchildren, distribute surplus federal foods to soup kitchens and pantries, conserve soil and water resources, protect farmland from development and preserve it for future agricultural use, expand export markets for fresh and processed agricultural products, promote the commercial fishing industry, and administer the complete program of agriculture, food and natural resource education.

Links to databases from all the states.

"A searchable collection of local public policies that explicitly support community food systems." Part of the Growing Food Connections project.

Information about and links to departments of agriculture in all fifty states and the territories of American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

A research program from the Consultative Group for International Agricultural Research (CGIAR).

A multilingual bibliographic database that connects users directly to a rich collection of research and worldwide technical information on food and agriculture. Also provides full text links for millions of its records. Maintained by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO).

The food systems branch of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.

Multilingual databases of statistics on agriculture, nutrition, fisheries, forestry, food quality control, and related areas. From the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.

This specialized agency of the United Nations leads international efforts to defeat hunger. The site includes information by topic as well as resources that provide data, infographics, interactive stories, and publications.

Provides users with comprehensive international data across a wide range of labour-related topics.

Provides direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, as well as data and statistical tools. Areas covered include macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.

Includes thematic book collections, online periodicals, reference titles, and the OECD statistical databases.

"Resources about sustainable consumption and production from around the world."

The Sectoral Policies Department of the International Labour Organization "promotes decent work by addressing social and labour issues in specific economic sectors, both at international and national levels." Food; drink; tobacco, and agriculture; plantations; other rural are among the sectors considered.

A simple single-entry point for a variety of statistical resources including those from United Nations Organizations such as FAO, UNESCO, ILO, WHO, UNDP, ITU, UNHCR, and more.

Bibliographic records and full text of UNESCO documents, publications, periodicals since 1945.

Read only access to publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs.

Includes, documents, votes, speeches, selected maps, and publications in the public domain.

"The role of UNSCN stems from the need for a platform for sharing knowledge and for facilitating coordination of the collective work carried out in this field to ensure coherent and consistent policies, programmes and advocacy initiatives."

Provides "a forum for identifying, highlighting and developing responses to today's human rights challenges, and acts as the principal focal point of human rights research, education, public information, and advocacy activities in the United Nations system."

Data is accessible by country, indicator, or topic, or via a specific database such as World Development Indicators, Gender Statistics, Education Statistics, the Poverty and Equity Database, or one of many others.

The official open access repository for research outputs and knowledge products from the World Bank. Includes full-text books, reports, working papers, technical papers, serials, and other materials.

Portal containing statistical indicators related to World Trade Organization issues. Available time series cover merchandise trade and trade in services statistics, market access indicators (bound, applied & preferential tariffs), non-tariff information as well as other indicators.