Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Food Systems

A guide to library resources and other sources for researching food systems

Finding Newspaper Articles

Other than large databases with multiple newspapers, the individual web sites of many national and local newspapers can also serve as great resources. You may have to create a free account. You may find titles only, but no full text.

TIP: You can always type that title in the QuickSearch search box to see if Rutgers has access. If we don't, you can request the article!

Major Newspaper Resources from Rutgers

Major News Databases:

Full-text newspapers:

Access to the above restricted resources for Rutgers off-campus users will require authentication using NetID. Log in when prompted.

Google News

Sorted by relevance by default, you can get the most important content from Google News. Or, you can limit the search by time, if you need news from a particular period via Custom range.

Tools also allow you to retrieve blogs only, i.e., opinion pieces that can point you to further resources or give you more ideas how to move forward with your topic.

A Sampling of Books from QuickSearch - Select the Book Cover to Go to the Record and Access the EBook

Book cover for Alternative Food Politics
Book cover for Fair Food
Book cover for Global Food Security and Supply
Book cover for Aquaponics Food Production Systems Combined Aquaculture and Hydroponic Production Technologies for the Future
Book cover for The Meat Crisis: Developing more Sustainable and Ethical Production and Consumption
Book cover for Farmland Preservation: Land for Future Generations
Book cover for Reformulation as a strategy for developing healthier food products : challenges, recent developments and future prospects
Book cover for Edible Insects in Sustainable Food Systems
Book cover for Crop Rotation: An Approach to Secure Future Food
Book cover for Animal Sourced Foods for Developing Economies: Preservation, Nutrition, and Safety

Find Articles

Find eBooks

Start with QuickSearch on the Rutgers University Libraries home page

  • Enter your search term(s), you will get a list of results.
  • Use the left panel to narrow down to eBook.
  • Under ‘Resource Types” select Book.
  • Under “Limit to” select Available Online.
  • Select any title from the results list to view the complete details, including the link for online access.

Identify Databases for Your Research

On the Rutgers University Libraries homepage, select Databases under Resources.On the Indexes and databases page, you can browse by Subject or find a database by name, if you know what you are looking for.

Most databases of interest for the SEBS community will be found under Science, Technology, Engineering and Math

Select from hundreds  of databases in the following disciplines. Read the description to learn about topics and coverage.

Access to restricted resources for Rutgers off-campus users will require authentication using NetID. Log in when prompted.

Find Videos

Start with QuickSearch on the Rutgers University Libraries home page

  • Search for a topic of interest in the QuickSearch searchbox
  • Check "Limit To" "Available Online" in the left panel
  • Filter by “Resource Type” in the left panel to “Video”
  • Once you have found a title, click on “View Online”
  • Log in with your NetID to watch the selected video

You can also search one of the popular video databases (Rutgers-restricted):

Evaluating Sources

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.