Retrieving Full Text Articles
Rutgers has many databases that provide the full text of an article (linked pdf or html), while others provide only citations or abstracts. In that case, there are still several options for you to get the full text.
- If you don't see the PDF icon or linking to the full text of an article, click the
button. If the article is available via Rutgers, you will gain access. - If the article is not available at Rutgers, you will be able to request an electronic copy through an "Article Delivery" link in the database.
- If that doesn't seem to be an option, you can copy and paste the title of the article into QuickSearch. You have to be logged in with your NetID to see your access or delivery options.
- If the title doesn't show up, try checking the Expand My Search box to get to the record from another library and an Article Delivery button.It will autopopulate the interlibrary loan form for you. See also Article Delivery.
- You may want to check for access in Google Scholar via the Rutgers link, too. If Rutgers has access, it will come up in the results.
- If all fails, you can always ask a librarian for help.
Suggested Databases
- MEDLINE (Ovid)Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is the premier source for citations, indexing, and abstracts of biomedical literature. The database contains more than 30 million citations from 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and many other countries. It is updated daily.
- PubMedWith its over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books, PubMed is one of the primary databases for research in nutritional science. Accessing PubMed via this link, a “Get It @ R” button appears in many citations allowing Rutgers affiliates to link to full-text articles available through Rutgers University Libraries.
- UpToDateUpToDate is a point-of-care information resource which contains over 10,000 clinical topics representing 25 specialties. In addition to searching the entire resource or viewing Topics by Specialty, there are options to view the newest updates (What's New), Practice Changing Updates, Drug Information, and Patient Education information (the latter is available in English and Spanish).
- UpToDate LexidrugAn excellent resource for drug doses, mechanisms of action, drug interactions, and adverse effects.
- PsycInfoAn index of scholarly literature in behavioral sciences and mental health fields, PsycInfo is useful in searching many nutrition-related topics.
Main Research Guides to Find Resources
- Nutrition and Food Science Information ResourcesA general research guide geared toward both undergraduate and graduate students in Nutritional Science and Food Science at SEBS.
- Nutritional Sciences/Evidence Based NutritionLibrary resources for students in nutrition and/or dietetics from RBHS Newark, with content from library-licensed resources and web resources that were screened for authority.
- PubMed (new and updated)This guide helps users to learn how to use the New PubMed. Includes new features and where to find some of the old ones, too..