Introduction to Applied Nutrition Research
Overview of research tools available through Rutgers libraries for graduate students working on their literature review for their thesis in the Department of Nutritional Sciences (SEBS).
From the class workshop Fall '24
- Powerpoint 2024PDF version of the class presentation (with links to resources used)
- Search Strategy WorksheetA one-page word document to help conceptualize your search strategy.
- Sample Ovid Medline SearchScreenshot of the search demo.
Science Librarian on Cook/Douglass
Judit Ward
Contact:
Library Contact for SEBS/NJAES
Liaison to the Center of Alcohol Studies
Liaison to the Center of Alcohol Studies
848-445-3527
Website
Subjects: Alcohol Studies
Welcome
This guide aims to serve as a portal for graduate students working on their thesis in the Department of Nutritional Science, complementing the online library instruction session for Introduction to Applied Nutrition Research.
Quick Links: Databases
- MEDLINE (Ovid)Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is the premier source for citations, indexing, and abstracts of biomedical literature. The database contains more than 30 million citations from 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and many other countries. It is updated daily.
- PubMedWith its over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books, PubMed is one of the primary databases for research in nutritional science. Accessing PubMed via this link, a “Get It @ R” button appears in many citations allowing Rutgers affiliates to link to full-text articles available through Rutgers University Libraries.
- UpToDateUpToDate is a point-of-care information resource which contains over 10,000 clinical topics representing 25 specialties. In addition to searching the entire resource or viewing Topics by Specialty, there are options to view the newest updates (What's New), Practice Changing Updates, Drug Information, and Patient Education information (the latter is available in English and Spanish).
- UpToDate LexidrugAn excellent resource for drug doses, mechanisms of action, drug interactions, and adverse effects.
Quick Links: Related Guides
- Nutrition and Food Science Information ResourcesA general research guide geared toward both undergraduate and graduate students in Nutritional Science and Food Science at SEBS.
- Nutritional Sciences/Evidence Based NutritionLibrary resources for students in nutrition and/or dietetics from RBHS Newark, with content from library-licensed resources and web resources that were screened for authority.
- Systematic Reviews in the Health SciencesGeared toward health sciences, this guide from RBHS will introduce you to the Systematic Review process. Includes study designs, a worksheet, a guide how to write a review, search strategy development, and more.
- Evidence Synthesis in the Social SciencesThis guide has a section with essential information for those considering a systematic review. Outlines steps that create a structure for a reproducible methodology.
- Writing a Dissertation or Thesis: RU Grad School ResourcesInformation on print and online resources for students who are writing dissertations, theses, and honors papers.
- New Brunswick Graduate StudentsThis guide is designed to help graduate students on the New Brunswick/Piscataway campuses navigate Rutgers University and downtown New Brunswick.
Rutgers University Libraries LibGuide
- The comprehensive guide to Rutgers University LibrariesProvides you with a foundation in using a wide array of electronic library resources and services. There are instructions on searching for books and articles and using other resources.