Scientific Maps at the Library of Science & Medicine

Defense Mapping Agency/Army Map Service/National Imagery and Mapping Agency: Topos and charts

• The Army Map Service topographic map collection consists of world map series and non-US maps, arranged by series number. This uncataloged collection can be accessed using the DMATC:AMS Map Depository Catalog, kept in the LSM reference office. LSM does not have the complete collection. The University of Texas at Austin map library web page has an excellent index guide to this AMS topographic series, including digital images of the index map sheets.

• Topographic maps from the Defense Mapping Agency, which merged into the National Imagery and Mapping Agency and then the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency, are uncataloged and housed by series number in the map cases in the reference area. Maps are world wide in coverage, and scale of map varies from 1:1,000,000 on up. Information on their maps is available online.

• TCP: Tactical Pilotage Charts. These charts support high speed, low altitude, radar and visual navigation of high performance tactical and reconnaissance aircraft at very low through medium altitudes. Maps in this series are in a scale of 1:500,000. They are filed by series number in the same cabinet as the GNC, JNC, and ONC charts.

• ONC: Operational Navigation Charts. These charts support high-speed radar navigation requirements of aircraft at medium altitudes. Uses include visual, celestial, and radio navigation. Maps in this series are in a scale of 1:1,000,000. They cover the following geographic areas: Africa, Anarctica, Arctic Regions, Asia and Eastern Europe, Europe, Central and South America, North America, Pacific, and the world. The LSM collection is housed by series number in a file cabinet in the reference area on the first floor of the library.

• JNC: Jet Navigation Charts. These charts are suitable for long range, high altitude, high speed navigation. Topographic features include large cities, roads, railroads, drainage, and relief. Maps in this series are in a scale of 1:2,000,000. They cover the same geographic areas as the ONC charts, and are filed by series number in the same file cabinet.

• GNC: Global Navigation and Planning Charts. These charts are suitable for aeronautical planning, operatons over long distances, and enroute navigation in long range, high altitude, high speed aircraft. Charts show principal cities, towns, and drainage, primary roads and railroads, prominent cultural features and shaded relief. Maps in this series are in a scale of 1:5,000,000. They cover the same geographic areas as the ONC and JNC charts, and are filed by series number in the same file cabinet.

The commercial East View Geospatial web page for product sales is a useful index to the GNC, JNC, ONC, and TCP chart series. 

Federal Aviation Administration: Aeronautical Charts

The latest edition of the FAA Aeronautical Charts User Guide is available online. Only the most current charts should be used for navigation. LSM keeps the most recently received editions of Sectional aeronautical charts in the government documents collection on the second floor. These charts are classed DOCUS TD 4.79/11:  See for example the QuickSearch record for the chart for New York.  The most recently received editions of world aeronautical charts are shelved nearby at DOCUS TD 4.79/14:  See for example the QuickSearch record for chart CF-19 covering the New York region.  

Federal Emergency Management Agency: Flood Maps

Current maps are available from the FEMA Flood Map Service Center. Search by street address to retrieve flood maps for viewing or purchase. 

Forest Service: National forest maps

Topographic maps of the national forests are housed in the map cases on the first floor of LSM. These maps are classed A 13.28:  Current maps are available online. Motor vehicle use maps and recreation and trail guides to the national forests are kept folded and housed in the government documents collection on the second floor of LSM.

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration: Nautical charts

Nautical charts at LSM include charts from the National Ocean Service (East coast domestic waters only) and the Defense Mapping Agency foreign waters charts (general, international, and U.S. waters). The two series are interfiled in the map cases on the first floor of LSM. Only current charts should be used for navigational purposes. Electronic Navigational Charts are available at the NOAA Office of Coast Survey web site. Historical maps and charts from the U.S. Coast and Geodetic Survey are also available online.

National Weather Service: Daily Weather Maps

LSM has a collection of daily weather maps in print from 1975 - 1999, housed in the government documents collection on the second floor file by SuDoc classification numbers DOCUS C 55.213: and C 55.195:  The current six months of weekly cumulations of the  Daily Weather Maps are also available online. Historical daily weather maps, from 1871 forward, are available from the NOAA Central Library.

Soil Conservation Service: Farm land and soil surveys

• Important Farmlands maps issued by the Soil Conservation Service showing land in farms in the various states are housed in the map cases on the first floor reference area of LSM. The SuDoc classification number A 57.69/#: arranges the maps by state, and within state by county or area name. Visit the NRI Map Room to see prime farmland maps online.

• Soil Surveys are used to evaluate soils for farms and forests, to determine site selection for construction, to identify special needs such as soil conservation or to assess the value of tracts of land. At LSM, soil surveys are shelved in the government documents collection on the second floor, under SuDoc Classification number A 57.38/#: which groups the surveys by state, then by county name. Some soil surveys are now available online at the National Resource Conservation Service website. The Engineering Soil Survey of New Jersey is located in the book stacks. Report number 1 introduces the series and includes data for the state overall.

Additional maps from federal agencies in the LSM collection are arranged in SuDoc number classification. Records for these maps may appear in QuickSearch, or for maps received prior to 2003 in the documents card catalog, and are filed either in the DOCUS-MAP cases and cabinets on the first floor of the library, or in the DOCUS collection on the second floor.

Canadian Geological Survey Maps

These maps are housed in a horizontal filing cabinet in the map reference area on the first floor of LSM. They are arranged by series number. Use the Index to Publications to access these maps.  Records for cataloged maps also appear in QuickSearch.

Intergovernmental Agency Maps

Maps from agencies such as UNESCO and FAO are cataloged and filed by LC classification number in the map cabinets on the first floor.  Records for these maps appear in QuickSearch. See for example, World map of hydrogeological conditions and groundwater flow.

Miscellaneous Uncataloged Maps

These maps can be found in a geographic arrangement with the name of the continent, country, or state on the front of the map case drawer. The uncataloged collection is comprised mainly of geologic or topographic maps, but other scientific and political maps are included as well. Access to these maps is via the "Maps" drawer in the government documents card catalog at LSM.