- Braintrack: University Index
Claiming to be "the world's most complete directory for university and college search," this site includes a search function and links to the home pages of colleges and universities worldwide. Listings are also available in a geographical arrangement.
- College Blue Book [Rutgers Restricted]
An electronic version of the 6 volume 35th edition, the resource serves as a "guide to thousands of 2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada. Covers the expected listings and detailed descriptions, degree programs offered, scholarships, distance learning programs, and occupational education programs."
- College Board
A variety of information on the college application process, including an advanced "find your match" search of two and four-year colleges using comparative criteria like cost, location, sports and activities, and more.
- College Navigator
From the U.S. National Center for Education Statistics, a searchable index of information on universities; liberal arts colleges; specialized colleges; community colleges; career or technical colleges; and trade schools.
- College Results Online
From The Education Trust, a database of graduation rates at colleges and universities. Rates can be retrieved for a specific college or university, for a group of institutions, or by student and institutional characteristics.
- CollegeSource Online
Searchable access to profiles, web pages, and maps for two-year, four-year, graduate, and professional schools in the United States and elsewhere. A subscription is required to access the full-text catalogs.
- EdRef College Search Directory
A free online directory providing information about thousands of US colleges. Includes special sections on athletic scholarships, minority colleges, online schools, and religious schools.
- Education Research Guide
A guide to major resources for conducting research in the field of education and for finding curriculum materials.
- Education Resource Organizations Directory
From the U.S. Department of Education, a searchable database of organizations that provide information and assistance on a broad range of education-related topics.
Search for graduate programs by subject or school name to retrieve a list of programs in the United States, abroad, or via distance learning. Also includes links to information on standard educational tests, financial aid, fellowships, and related information.
- Higher Education in the US of America & Canada
Features links and resources for international students interested in attending college in the United States or Canada.
Multiple resources, including links to information on colleges and universities, graduate schools, online and continuing education, and K-12 school and programs.
- Search for Schools, Colleges, and Libraries
Search for public schools, private schools, colleges, and public libraries by name, location, or ZIP code. From the U.S. National Center for Education Statistics.
Uses the Google Search engine to index university and academic Web sites, and return search results in ranked order.
- State Education Data Profiles
Information on elementary/secondary education, postsecondary education, public libraries, and selected demographics for all states in the U.S., provided by the National Center for Education Statistics.
- U.S. Department of Education Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs
A database listing postsecondary educational institutions and programs, each of which is accredited by an accrediting agency or state approval agency recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education as a "reliable authority as to the quality of postsecondary education."
- U.S. Universities by State
A list of links to the home pages of regionally accredited U.S. universities, organized by state.
- UNESCO Portal on Higher Education Institutions
"Offers access to on-line information on higher education institutions recognized or otherwise sanctioned by competent authorities in participating countries."
- Universities Worldwide
A searchable database of links to universities throughout the world.