Transatlantic Literature

MLA International Bibliography is an index of scholarship on all aspects of modern languages and literature. Subjects covered include criticism, drama, film, folklore (including folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems), history of printing and publishing, language, linguistics (including history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, syntax, and translation), literary theory, literature, radio, television, and college-level teaching of language, literature, rhetoric, and composition.

JSTOR is a platform for journals, books, images, and primary sources in a wide variety of subject areas in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Project Muse is a platform for scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Fields covered include cultural studies, economics, education, gender studies, history, political science, literature and literary criticism, visual and performing arts, and many others.

QuickSearch provides access to the print and electronic books in the Rutgers University Libraries collection.

The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB) contains short biographical entries for men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from ancient times to the present. It includes over 60,000 biographies and 11,000 portraits. Each biography concisely describes a person’s life, accomplishments, and influence, citing relevant sources. Biographies are written by expert scholars and overseen by academic editors at Oxford University.

The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Eighteenth-Century Writers and Writing1660-1789 features coverage of the lives and works of almost 500 notable writers based in the British Isles from the return of the British monarchy in 1660 until the French Revolution of 1789.

Gale Literature Resource Center is a full-text database that provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors and their works from every age and literary discipline. The database offers a variety of search options, including searches by person or work. The database includes biographies for more than 160,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth biographies of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.

The Reference Works section includes a few dozen major reference works, including the New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics. The Author Pages section includes pages for over 6000 authors. Each author page lists all the content within Literature Online related to the author, including biographies, primary texts, criticism, reference works entries, and multimedia resources.

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is the preeminent dictionary of the English language. It includes authoritative definitions, history, and pronunciations of over 600,000 words from across the English-speaking world. Each word’s entry includes etymologies and quotations illustrating the word’s meanings and uses over time.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is a digital collection of nearly all the works published in the English language (and non-English language works printed in the United Kingdom) during the 18th century, totaling over 180,000 titles. The collection includes all genres published within that period, such as poems, plays, novels, histories, travel books, parliamentary papers, parish registers, conduct books, cook books, almanacs, and more.

Eighteenth Century Journals is a collection of unique and rare periodicals representing the wide range of English language print culture in the long 18th century. Journals from the United Kingdom and its then-colonies, including United States, Canada, the Caribbean, and India are represented. A wide variety of subjects are addressed in these periodicals, which include political journals, newspapers, literary and poetry reviews, theatrical journals, fashion magazines, and other publication types.

Eighteenth Century Drama is primarily a collection of digitized play manuscripts; it includes nearly every play submitted for license in the United Kingdom from 1737-1824. The original play manuscripts are in the Larpent Collection at the Huntington Library.

Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection is a full-text, full-image collection of over 1000 newspapers, newsbooks, pamphlets, and broadsides dating from the 17th and 18th centuries. Most were published in London, but some were published in other parts of Great Britain, and a few were published overseas.

American Periodicals is a platform for historical digitized American magazines and journals. On this platform, Rutgers has access to the following collections: American Periodical Series, 18th Century (APS I); American Periodical Series, 1800-1850 (APS II); American Periodical Series, 1850-1900 (APS III).

American History, 1493-1945 is a collection of digitized primary sources depicting the history of the United States of America from the earliest settlers to World War II. A wide variety of material types are included, such as books, broadsides, correspondence, diaries, legal documents, magazines, maps, newspapers, objects, pamphlets, photographs, prints, paintings, engravings, and sketches.

Defining Gender is a collection of digitized primary sources depicting gender in British history, literature, society, and culture from 1450-1910. Materials in this collection allow the viewer to see how British perceptions of gender and gender roles developed and changed. Material types include ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, government papers, illustrated writings on anatomy, writings on midwifery, art and fashion publications, receipt books, conduct and advice literature, poetry, novels, ballads, drama, literary manuscripts, travel writing, and more.