Research Guides: Trademarks: BASIC INFO

Tutorial from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)

The United States Patent and Trademark Office provides basic information about registering a federal trademark on its web page. There are videos provided on trademark searching in in the new database. Go to https://www.uspto.gov/trademarks/search/trademark-search-system-updates#Training-webinars and scroll down.

First time filer? Confused by trademark application terms? Trying to fill out the TEAS form, but not sure which buttons to push and fields to complete? For your convenience, the USPTO presents TEAS Nuts and Bolts, a how-to video series that provides information about each page of the TEAS application form. Each video shows how the form is used and provides examples.

File a Trademark Application:

The USPTO Trademark Center page is here: https://www.uspto.gov/trademarks/apply Please note the USPTO is in the process of updating this page.

There is a backlog of applications and this page reports when new applications will be reviewed. For more information on wait times and the application process, see this page: https://www.uspto.gov/trademarks/application-timeline

Information from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA)

The Choose and Register your business page from the SBA gives useful information about trade names and trademarks.

International registration: Information from the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

Applicants interested in filing for trademark protection in foreign countries will find basic information about international registration from the World Intellectual Property Organization. A brief video about protecting a trademark worldwide is available from the Madrid Goods and Services Manager web page.

Trademark Search Manuals

EU Trademarks and Designs
The European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) registers the European Union trade mark (formerly known as the Community Trade Mark.)
Index of trademarks issued from the United States Patent and Trademark Office
(1927 - 1973) Hathi Trust
Index of trademarks issued from the United States Patent and Trademark Office
(1975 - ) Hathi Trust
Trademark Examination Guides
Trademark Manual of Examining Procedure (TMEP) - (Updated: May 2024)
The Manual is published to provide trademark examining attorneys in the USPTO, trademark applicants, and attorneys and representatives for trademark applicants with a reference work on the practices and procedures relative to prosecution of applications to register marks in the USPTO. The Manual contains guidelines for Examining Attorneys and materials in the nature of information and interpretation, and outlines the procedures which Examining Attorneys are required or authorized to follow in the examination of trademark applications.
Trademark Official Gazette (TMOG)
The Trademark Official Gazette (TMOG) is published each Tuesday and contains bibliographic information and a representative drawing for each mark published, along with a list of cancelled and renewed registrations.
U.S. Acceptable Identification of Goods and Services Manual (ID Manual)
The ID Manual contains a listing of acceptable identifications of goods and services. Any entry you choose must accurately describe your goods and/or services. Failure to list the goods and/or services accurately with which you are using or intend to use your mark could prevent you from registering your mark.
U.S. Trademark Number Guide (Queen’s University Library)
USPTO Design Search Code Manual
This manual contains three sections concerning the maintenance and use of the automated design mark database. The sections include: (1) the General Guidelines, (2) the design search code section and (3) an alphabetical index.