Survey of American Literature

Indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, and the teaching of language and literature in journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.

Contains searchable full text of over 350,000 works of English-language literature, including 343,000 works of poetry, 5000 dramatic works, and 2000 prose works. Also includes literary criticism and reference works.

Covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.

Makes available, in digital format, every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in the American colonies or the United States between 1639 and 1800. Among the vast range of publications included are: advertisements, almanacs, bibles, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, and treaties.

A nearly comprehensive collection of the works published in the English language during the eighteenth century. Includes poems, plays, novels, histories, travel books, parliamentary papers, parish registers, conduct books, cook books, almanacs

A database of primary source collections for the 19th Century, primarily British and American, but including material from other nations and in other languages.

Includes fully searchable images of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides focused on 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.

Full-text database of the following newspapers published by and for African-Americans:
Christian Recorder (Philadelphia: 1861-1902 [excluding 1892])
Colored American (New York: 1837-1841)
Douglass' Monthly (Rochester, NY: 1859-1863)
Frederick Douglass' Paper (Rochester, NY: 1851-1855)
Freedom's Journal (New York: 1827-1829)
National Era (Washington, D.C.: 1847-1860)
North Star (Rochester, NY: 1847-1851)
Provincial Freeman (Chatham, Ontario): 1854-1857)
Weekly Advocate (New York: 1837)

Searchable full-text collection of pages from thousands of digitized newspapers from across the United States, including Puerto Rico. Coverage ranges from 1789 to 1963 but varies for each newspaper.

Full-text database of over 1,500 newspapers published between 1741 and 1922. It includes the entire text of each issue, including advertisements, classified advertisements, editorials, letters to the editor, poetry, fiction and obituaries.

Full-text database of American newspapers published between 1800 and 1900.

Includes the full image of articles published in the Chicago Defender from 1910 to 1975. The Chicago Defender was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century.

Provides the full image of articles published in the New York Times from its first issue in 1851 to three years prior to the current year, including illustrations and advertisements.

Provides the full image of articles published in the Philadelphia Inquirer from its first issue in 1860 through 2001, including illustrations and advertisements.

Profiles the full image of articles published in the Pittsburgh Gazette 1786 to 2003, including illustrations and advertisements.

Provides the full image of articles published in the New York Times from 1889 to 1999, including illustrations and advertisements.

Provides the full mage of all articles published in the Washington Post from its first issue in 1877 through 2000, including illustrations and advertisements.

Single search for articles from The Chicago Defender, The New York Times, The Philadelphia Inquirer, The Pittsburgh Gazette, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.

Searchable full text with page images of the London Times from its inception in 1785 to 2012.