Stem Cell Research

A guide to scientific, governmental, commercial, ethical and political resources pertaining to Stem Cell research.

Searching for Books

Access Medicine
AccessMedicine is an online collection of key medical reference texts that provide authoritative and current medical data. Medical news, updates, patient education information, a diagnostic tool, and an integrated drug database with information about dosages, trade names, and pricing are also part of this resource.
Bookshelf (NCBI)
Bookshelf, from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
ProQuest Ebook Central
ProQuest Ebook Central contains over 200,000 ebooks from various publishers across a wide range of academic disciplines. The collection includes books from major university presses and other scholarly publishers.
QuickSearch (library catalog)
Search in QuickSearch to find books related to stem cells and stem cell research in our library catalog.
SpringerLink
SpringerLink is a full-text journal and e-book package covering thousands of scholarly titles in the following fields: architecture and design, biomedical and life sciences, business and economics, chemistry and materials science, computer science, earth and environmental science, engineering, humanities, psychology/behavioral science, social sciences and law, mathematics and statistics, medicine, and physics and astronomy.

Searching for Articles

Below is a list of indexes and databases to search for articles relevant to stem cells and stem cell research.

To locate additional databases, please visit the libraries Databases page.

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed for academic institutions. The database offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.
BIOSIS Previews
BIOSIS Previews is a comprehensive index to life science and biomedical research. It indexes a wide variety of content types, including published meetings, symposia, workshops, patents, books, reports, software, reviews, and over 5,000 academic journals.
Medline (via EBSCOhost)
The MEDLINE database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, is widely recognized as the premier source for citations, indexing, and abstracts of biomedical literature. MEDLINE provides information relevant to the fields of medicine, nursing, and dentistry, and it also covers areas of life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering that are related to health and biomedicine.
ProQuest Biological Sciences Collection
The collection contains biological science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Biological Sciences database. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, Biological Sciences provides access to literature from serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
PubMed
PubMed is a database of more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed’s primary focus is biomedicine and health sciences, but it also includes related fields such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is Elsevier’s platform for ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. It contains indexing, abstracts, and tables of contents for over 2,500 journals and over 35,000 ebooks.

Search Hints

To search for "stem cell" or its plural, use truncation.

Truncation symbols vary with each database. Asterisk (*) is most common truncation symbol, but others are used. Check the "Help" screen to see truncation symbol in the database of your choice.

For example, search for stem cell*