Research Guides: Social Work Research Guide: Library Databases: Scholarly Articles and More

Major Social Work Databases

A full list of Social Work Databases can be found from the Social Work Database List

APA PsycInfo
more...less...
PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide
CINAHL
Allied Health Literature
Criminal Justice Abstracts
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, research papers, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, dissertations, theses, and other materials in the field of education.
Family and Society Studies Worldwide
Medline
Bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.
PAIS Index
Public policy and administration literature.
ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection
This will search several databases provided by ProQuest simultaneously, e.g., PAIS International, Social Services Abstracts,.
PsychiatryOnline
The DSM-V is available through this database.
Social Services Abstracts

Access World News
NJ Star Ledger and other local papers, as well as national and global publications.
Westlaw Campus Research
Current New York Times and Washington Post can be searched in this database, as well as many other news publications.
more...less...
To search for a specific title inWestlaw:
pr("new york times") and your additional keywords
pr("washington post") and your keywords

Example: pr("new york times") and flu pandemic
Factiva
The current Wall Street Journal is available through this database. New York Times and Washington Post are also accessible via Factiva.
more...less...
To search, enter rst=(code for the newspaper) and your search terms.
Codes: Washington Post-wp; Times-nytf; Wall Street Journal-j
Examples:
rst=wp and flu epidemic
rst=nytf and flu epidemic
rst=j and flu epidemic
New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Washington Post (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Proquest Recent Newspapers: Northeast

Rather than a specific disciplinary focus, these databases cover a wide scope of literature from all fields.

Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database that covers many social sciences areas, medicine, health, education, etc.
Google Scholar
Searches peer-reviewed papers, dissertations, books, preprints, reports from academic publishers, professional societies, universities and other scholarly organizations. It is highly recommended that you use more that *just* google scholar when searching the academic literature.
Scopus
A citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science
Indexes major journals in the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Can also be used to find who has cited a particular author and to track trends in the literature.
JSTOR
Full text back runs of more than 2,000 scholarly journals in all disciplines, including history, sociology, philosophy, political science, economics, and more.