Service Animals

From ancient literature to modern fiction and research reports in professional literature, the bond between humans and animals has been extensively documented. Although 70% of American households would vouch for the benefits of companion animals, the decision about whether to implement animal-based interventions for mental disorders is not always a simple one. Unique both for its subject matter and for the depth of the information it provides, The Role of Companion Animals in the Treatment of Mental Disorders examines the existing evidence to support these practices as well as the risks associated with various types of programs. This volume combines a thorough analysis of the latest research with practical examples and explores topics that include * Ensuring animal welfare and well-being, with an emphasis on understanding applicable laws and regulations* Animal-assisted crisis interventions to prevent the onset of PTSD in individuals who have experienced significant traumas, such as natural disasters* Animal-assisted programs for youths at risk for mental disorders secondary to child maltreatment or contact with the juvenile justice system* Human-animal interaction (HAI) in specific disorders, including ADHD, autism spectrum disorder, depression, dementia, and anxiety* The application of HAIs in university campuses, hospital settings, and psychotherapy As applicable for trainees and residents as it is for experienced mental health professionals, this book offers a scientifically grounded review of extant knowledge while highlighting what is not yet known about animal-based interventions in particular patient groups. Readers will come away with an understanding of the role that animals can play in mitigating psychiatric symptoms, engaging patients in treatment, and enhancing well-being--as well as key principles and considerations for determining whether an animal-based intervention is appropriate for a given patient.

In October 1967, eighteen-year-old Patrick Bradley enlisted in the US Army and was later deployed to Vietnam to map mobile POW camps to determine a pattern for rescuing prisoners. Combat left him physically and psychologically wounded, as it does many veterans, and Bradley struggled to adjust when he returned home. He seemed destined for military prison after an altercation in which he broke a superior officer's jaw, but his life changed forever when a psychiatrist recommended a unique path for healing. Thanks to a program sponsored by the Canadian government, Bradley traveled to Canada to study bald eagles and document their behavior. He found himself recovering while living alone in the wild with minimal supplies or human contact. At the same time, his work was paving the way for groundbreaking research, including the discovery of a link between the use of the pesticide DDT and a decrease in southern bald eagle populations. Later, he forged a successful career training and managing wild animals and committed himself to helping other wounded warriors by cofounding the Avian Veteran Alliance, a nonprofit that pairs veterans suffering from PTSD and physical injuries with injured birds of prey. The Eagle on My Arm tells Bradley's inspirational story for the first time. This moving account reveals how a soldier became a dedicated healer, using his years of study and solitude to face his demons and turn his pain into a lifelong passion for helping others.

The boom in trained service animal use and access has transformed the lives of travelers with disabilities. As a result, tens of thousands of people in the United States and Canada enjoy travel options that were difficult or impossible just a few years ago.Henry Kisor and Christine Goodier provide a narrative guidebook full of essential information and salted with personal, hands-on stories of life on the road with service dogs and miniature horses. As the travel-savvy human companions of Trooper (Kisor's miniature schnauzer/poodle cross) and Raylene (Goodier's black Labrador), the authors share experiences from packing for your animal partner to widely varying legal protections to the animal-friendly rides at Disneyland. Chapters cover the specifics of air, rail, road, and cruise ship travel, while appendixes offer checklists, primers on import regulations and corporate policies, advice for emergencies, and a route-by-route guide to finding relief walks during North American train trips. Practical and long overdue, Traveling with Service Animals provides any human-animal partnership with a horizon-to-horizon handbook for exploring the world.

Like many pet dog trainers, you may be getting questions from clients looking for help training a service dog. Despite the growing demand, even highly skilled trainers need additional education and preparation to take on this kind of work. Author, Veronica Sanchez teaches professional trainers how to help owners with disabilities train a service dog. She provides what you need to know to become a successful service dog coach. You will learn: Characteristics of successful service dogs How to coach owner-trainers How to train typical service dog tasks and public access How to incorporate service dog coaching in your training practice

This book presents a cultural history of human-animal relations in Germany, Japan, Russia and the United States, with a focus on the uses of animals for comfort, healing and in developing a sense of well-being. Fujimura and Nommensen discuss the contexts in which the culture of wellbeing has developed and incorporated alternative therapies with animals. The authors turn to qualitative research conducted over a period of two years in veterinary clinics, hospices, reading programs, search and rescue organizations as well as an extensive review of existing literature on cultural studies of human-animal relations to inform their analysis of complex ways in which humans and animals interact. The extent to which animals are accepted either as members of society or, in contrast, as mere material possessions poses a cultural contradiction leading to questions of the ethical treatment of animals.

A four-stage programme for parents and families looking to introduce a dog into their home for the therapeutic and practical benefits that can be brought to a child with autism, including development of communication skills and toilet training. Based on first-hand knowledge, the programme was created through the successful experience the author had bringing up two children at opposite ends of the autism spectrum. This guide is comprehensive and highly practical, with case examples, tips and advice throughout. It covers all aspects of responsible ownership and training of the dog as a companion dog, and it provides tips throughout the dog's entire life cycle. Accessible for families and professionals alike, this innovative programme can have a huge impact on the life of children with disabilities.

For some people with disabilities, their interest and skills are best applied to laboratory work. Science laboratories are environments where hazardous materials and processes are in use, and assessments are required to mitigate risk and ensure compliance with Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) and Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) regulations. Accommodating individuals in a laboratory requires balancing adherence to those regulations, as well as the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) technical access standards. Individualized assessment and accommodation are needed to ensure that a qualified individual with a disability can work or study effectively in the laboratory while ensuring a safe working environment for all. This book is intended to be a helpful guide for professionals to understand how to provide equal access to people with disabilities in a laboratory environment. It will review the breadth of protections that are provided by the ADA. This book also covers the roles and responsibilities of persons involved in laboratory oversight, including institutional policies and their limitations with respect to providing appropriate support for individualized assessments in the laboratory.

Includes a chapter on service dogs in the laboratory.

Animal-Assisted Interventions for Emotional and Mental Health provides a unique opportunity to learn from a variety of leaders in the field. Leading scholar Dr. Cynthia Chandler and colleague Dr. Tiffany Otting present interviews with pioneering experts from the U.S., U.K., Israel, India, and Hong Kong, revealing key beliefs, values, and ideas that are fundamental to animal-assisted interventions. Their words will inspire and guide current and future generations of practitioners, teachers, and researchers.

For dog lovers and military families, a comprehensive and heartfelt collection of first-hand stories and in-depth reporting about how service, therapy, and companion dogs are changing the lives of active and retired military personnel injured in action With more than thirty pages of color photographs"

In the 15 years since the first edition of Handbook on Animal-Assisted Therapy published, the field has changed considerably.  The fourth edition of the Handbook highlights advances in the field, with 11 new chapters and over 40% new material.  In reading this book, therapists will discover the benefits of incorporating animal-assisted therapy (AAT) into their practices, best practices in animal-assisted intervention, how to design and implement animal-assisted interventions, and the efficacy of AAT with different disorders and patient populations.  Coverage includes the use of AAT with children, the elderly, those receiving palliative care, as well as people with chronic disorders, AIDS, trauma, and autistic spectrum disorders.  Additional chapters cover techniques for working with families, in juvenile and criminal justice systems, and in colleges and universities. Summarizes efficacy research on AAT Identifies how to design and implement animal assisted interventions Provides methods, standards, and guidelines for AAT Discusses AAT for children, the elderly, and special populations Describes AAT use in different settings Includes 11 new chapters and 40% new material

The Americans with Disabilities Act(ADA) provides broad nondiscrimination protection in employment, public services, public accommodations, services operated by public entities, transportation, and telecommunications for individuals with disabilities. This book summarizes the major provisions of the ADA and analyzes selected recent issues, including the Supreme Court cases and the ADA Amendments Act of 2008.

You have lost a limb in combat and have recently acquired a dog trained to retrieve items for you and to help you move in and out of your wheelchair. Can you take the dog into the cabin of an airplane to fly with you? If your pit bull is a pet that has learned to alert you to oncoming seizures, can you move into an apartment building despite the fact the building s management has adopted a policy excluding pit bulls? You have a dog trained to protect your autistic child from running into traffic. Are expenses for the dog deductible for federal tax purposes? You want to obtain a service dog and you hear that a nearby prison has a program under which inmates train dogs. The cost for a prison-trained service dog is much less than what you would pay to a breeder that trains service dogs. Should you consider getting a dog trained by a prisoner? This is the first book to look at the dramatic growth in the functions and numbers of service and therapy dogs and to describe how scientific and social acceptance is changing the laws that apply to these dogs.

This book looks at how therapies involving animals can be used to help individuals with autism to develop skills and improve quality of life. Pavlides relates the success stories of different animal-assisted interventions. She emphasizes the importance of tailoring interventions to the specific needs of the individual and monitoring progress.

This book sets out to examine how animals affect their companion humans' quality of life. The contributors address human animal interaction (HAI) according to the elements that define quality of life: physical; mental/emotional and social health; functional health; and general well-being. The book will be required reading for all health and social science professionals caring for clients who already have companion animals or for clients who might benefit from such interaction.