Research Guides: Special Collections and University Archives: Ethnic Heritage and Immigration: Native America

Manuscript Collections

Charles A. Philhower Collection (Contact SC/UA for details)
Charles Philhower was an archaeologist and historian. Within the larger collection, the Philhower Papers primarily concern Philhower's interest in Native Americans, in particular, the Delaware Lenape of New Jersey. The "Indian Subjects" section of the papers include documentation in the form of printed material; photographs of Indian relics; translations of words and names; and typescripts of Indian deeds. (1826, 1843-1961)
Elizabeth R. Boyd Historical Collection on Rutgers University
Includes journal of Samuel Kirkland, missionary from the Corporation of Harvard College, to the Oneida Nation of Indians and others of the Six Nations (October 16-December 31,1803, later from April 1-October 1, 1804).
Neilson Family Papers
Includes John Neilson correspondence on Osage Indian family (1820-1821).
Northern Missionary Society in the State of New York Records
Papers relating to missionary and educational work among Indians, chiefly Oneidas, of New York and the Saginaw mission to the Ojibwa Indians at Fort Gratiot, Michigan, together with journals of agents (Rev. Samuel Kirkland among the Oneidas (1803-1804) and John S. Hudson at Fort Gratiot, 1822) and letter (1821) of Lewis Cass, giving views on the Michigan project.
Queens’ and Rutgers College Presidents’ Collection
Includes address "Land and Law as Agents in Educating Indians," Merrill E. Gates, given at the American Social Science Association, September 11, 1885.
Richard P. McCormick Papers
Includes paper "The Successful Failure: The History of the Brotherton Indian Reservation," Richard Feinberg, January 4, 1950.
Samuel L. Mitchill Papers
Correspondence relating to medical affairs, Indian affairs, agriculture, lotteries, politics, architecture, naval affairs, poetry, autobiography, and other matters. Correspondents include Simeon DeWitt, Albert Gallatin, John McComb, and John Taylor.
Warren Earl Tomlinson Papers
Correspondence (1918-1930), military journal (1918-1919), diary (1924-1925), autobiography for the years 1888-1925, material relating to Tomlinson's invention of a turbine engine (1931), diary (1878) of an Indian boy attending school at Fort Sill, Indian Territory (later Oklahoma), printed matter (1917-1965), and miscellaneous items.

Indian Deeds

Our collection includes a number of deeds concerning the transfer of land, signed by named Native Americans with their personal mark. Access is through our card catalog in the reading room.

Printed Materials

Printed materials about Native America may be found by a target search in our library collection for the subject terms "Indians of North America" and "Indian land transfers" (view instructions). Rare books and fragile materials may only be requested when no digital reproduction is available online.