Special Collections and University Archives: Environmental History Resources

A guide to materials held by Rutgers Special Collections and University Archives on the topic of New Jersey environmental history.

Finding Maps at Rutgers Special Collections and University Archives

Quite a few of our maps are cataloged and findable QuickSearch, while others require the use of a guide/index available in our reading room. Please contact our Map Curator, Al King, with any questions: albert.king@rutgers.edu

Map Websites

Cartography
Includes digitized map holdings from Rutgers Special Collections and University Archives.
Special Collections and University Archives Maps
Overview of map holdings.
Maps of New Jersey
The Maps of New Jersey portal provides a single point of access to the multiple digital map collections residing within: Rutgers University Libraries’ Special Collections and University Archives, the New Jersey Environmental Digital Library and New Jersey Digital Highway, a state-wide history portal.

Maps

Industrial Facilities Map
A map of industrial facilities and other features within Monmouth County.
Our preserves
Map of New Jersey Conservation Foundation preserves, NJCF-managed properties, and other preserved land in New Jersey.
United States--east coast, New Jersey, Raritan River, Raritan Bay to New Brunswick
N.E. view of New Brunswick, N.J.
New Jersey's Watersheds, Watershed Management Areas and Water Regions
This map depicts New Jersey watershed management areas, containing more specific watershed areas. The five water regions: Atlantic Coastal, Lower Delaware, Northeast, Northwest and Raritan are color-coded. Each watershed management area is numbered.