Resources for M2 Self-Directed Learning
Visual Dx
- VisualDx
VisualDX is a differential diagnosis decision support tool, designed to be used at the point-of-care. This resource incorporates skin pigmentation in the image search.
Required Textbooks
Textbook of Physical Diagnosis: History and Examination by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 0323672922Publication Date: 2021
Medical Apartheid: The Dark History of Medical Experimentation on Black Americans from Colonial Times to the PresentISBN: 076792939XPublication Date: 2006
Required Resources for Off-Site Activities
- AccessMedicine's Auscultation ClassroomMultimedia - animations and sounds.
- Fundamentals of Lung AuscultationReview prior to Pulmonary.
- Pediatric Physical Examination videoView using Windows Media Player or VLC - this .wmv file will not play in Quicktime.
- University of Michigan Heart Sound & Murmur LibraryClick on the diagram of the heart sound to play or stop listening.
Recommended Resources
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination, 11th EditionCall Number: e-BookISBN: 1260134873Publication Date: 2020
The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical DiagnosisCall Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2009
- New England Journal of Medicine VideosBrowse this collection for specific exams.
- Bates Visual Guide to Physical ExaminationThis streaming video series provides head-to-toe and systems-based physical exam techniques.
- Resources for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Medical EducationLinks to streaming media, e-books, and articles about racism, microaggressions, health equity and disparities.
Resources for Clinical Skills: Write-Ups, Links, Reflections
These resources will assist you in your self-directed learning activities in PCM2. This guide provides you with links to resources to answer background and foreground questions and with tools to help you formulate clinical questions and appraise evidence.
Background & Foreground Questions
- EBM OverviewA super quick guide to practicing EBM - PDF version.
- Asking the Well-Built Clinical QuestionDuke University's Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice tutorial
Resources for Answering Background Questions
Symptom to Diagnosis: An Evidence-Based Guide by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 1260121127Publication Date: 2020
- AccessMedicineProvides an online collection of key medical reference e-books with coverage that includes basic sciences and clinical texts.
- ClinicalKeyProvides access to e-textbooks, clinical practice guidelines, and FirstConsult reviews.
- Medical E-TextbooksSearch by title or subject to access our online, full text medical textbook collections.
Resources for Answering Foreground Questions
- DynamedThis clinical reference tool integrates evidence based medicine with practical information for clinical practice on more than 3,200 clinical topics.
- Essential Evidence PlusLinks to topics and daily POEMS where clinical questions are asked and answered with links to evidence, diagnostic tests, practice guidelines.
- PubMedPubMed provides access to over 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Use this link to search PubMed and retrieve full text held by Rutgers Libraries subscriptions.