Social Work Research Methods I (19:910:505)

Via the American Psychological Association Science Directorate

The American Psychological Association provides information about both published and unpublished tests, tips on how to locate tests and test publishers, and addresses the responsibilities of test users.

Prepared by the Joint Committee on Testing Practices (AERA, APA, NCME.)

Via the American Psychological Association Science Directorate

Lists noncommercial experimental test instruments currently in use collected from 37 journals grouped into 24 categories based on content and function. Entries include purpose, format, reliability and validity scores, related research and a reference to the journal in which the test was originally described. (Please note: this does not guarantee that the test in its entirety will appear in the journal article.) Use the detailed cumulative subject index in volume 9 for test numbers in all volumes

Via the Psychology Foundation of Australia

Farley, University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana

Stanford/VA/NIA Aging Clinical Research Center

The first four items lead to multiple measures. The remaining items are single, individual measures.

Richard M. Tolman, School of Social Work, University of Michigan

These surveys are public documents, available without charge, for non-commercial purposes. Provided by the Rand Corporation, a nonprofit institution that seeks to improve policy and decision-making through research and analysis.

A comparison of different self-report measures of adult attachment. By Phillip R. Shaver of University of California, Davis and R. Chris Fraley of University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

A variety of measures made available by Dr. Charles Carver, University of Miami. For instance, COPE is a measure of coping; LOT-R measures optimism-pessimism;MAQ, a measure of adult attachment qualities.

The ADAI Library is located at the University of Washington and collects research and scientific literature on alcohol and other drug use from all relevant disciplines. Instruments can be found by name or acronym, developer, descriptors, and words in the abstract. Descriptive and psychometric information is provided, and some instruments are in the public domain and can be freely downloaded from the web. A list of all the instruments can also be browsed

Measures are organized by the following topical areas: individual traits, values, involvement and information processing, reactions to advertising stimuli, attitudes toward the social role of business, and sales and sales management issues. Descriptive, validity and original source information is also provided.

See Part 7, "Assessing Social Variables: Scales and Indexes" Scales cover areas such as social status, group structure and dynamics, leadership, family and marriage, etc

This classic and invaluable reference handbook, written for sex researchers and their students, has now been completely revised in a new, fourth edition. It remains the only easy and efficient way for researchers to learn about, evaluate, and compare instruments that have previously been used in sex research.

From the CDC, this resource contains approximately 33 tools that measure a range of bullying experience including bully perpetration, bully victimization, bully-victim experiences, and bystander experiences.

This compendium features over 20 scales measuring both victimization from and perpetration of intimate partner violence. For each included scale, the compendium provides scale items, response categories, and scoring instructions. Psychometric information is also supplied and how to obtain permission to use copyrighted materials is provided.

Includes over 50 measures. Also available in print, Dana Library Stacks: HT1523.D38 2011

This compendium contains more than 100 measures that can be used to evaluate programs to prevent youth violence. There are four sections, each focusing on a different category of assessments. In addition to the measure, information on reliability/validation, scoring, target group, and how to obtain permission to use copyright materials is provided. Please be sure to read the "How to use this compendium" section.

This compendium includes reviews of more than 200 instruments for measuring anxiety-related constructs in adults. These measures are summarized in `quick view grids' which clinicians will find invaluable. Seventy-five of the most popular instruments are reprinted and a glossary of frequently used terms is provided.

This volume provides critical overviews of key assessment issues and available assessment tools in depression. It provides summary tables comparing and contrasting different instruments in terms of their time requirements, suitability, costs, administration, reliability, and validity. These `quick view grids' provide a rapid method of identifying and comparing potentially useful measures. Sample copies of 25 instruments in the public domain are included; for instruments commercially available, samples of instrument content and information about how to purchase them are provided

Offers full reproduction of more than a dozen measures for children, adolescents, and adults, e.g. the Interpersonal Competence Questionnaire and the Teenage Inventory of Social Skills