Childhood Studies Proseminar I

Start Here

• ​QuickSearch: Search by author, title, or keyword(s) and then narrow by Resource Type.

Articles

• Childhood Studies Subject database list: a curated list of all library databases related to your discipline.
• Oxford Bibliographies: Childhood Studies: "The database can be searched by topic, keyword, or author of the article. The results that are retrieved include not only articles in the Oxford Bibliographies but also a bibliography of books, journal titles, and Web resources."

Journals

• Journal Finder: Search for and access journals by title or keyword. 
• Browzine: Browse journals and subscribe to alerts. 

Interlibrary Loan

• ILLiad Article Delivery: Request articles you cannot get directly from Rutgers Libraries. 
• EZBorrow: If Rutgers Libraries do not have access to a book you need you can request the book from another university via E-Z Borrow.

Citation Style Resources

• APA Formatting and Style Guide (from Purdue U.)

Citation Management Tools

Citation management software make it easy to organize, retrieve, store, cite, and share references.

• EndNote: Desktop and web-based subscription tool, available through Rutgers. Use the download links on the linked EndNote page to download software to your computer. You should not be asked to enter a product key. For more assistance, including step-by-step instructions for installing the software, visit the EndNote research guide.
   
• RefWorks: Web-based tool, available through Rutgers. Create an account using the sign-up link on the linked RefWorks page. Visit the RefWorks User Guide for extensive documentation on using RefWorks.
  • See also: Creating an annotated bibliography in RefWorks tutorial
     
• Zotero: Free desktop application with many web browser plugins. Learn more about using Zotero on the Zotero research guide.

What citation manager should I choose?

See a comparison chart of popular citations managers and their pros and cons from the University of Oxford research guide.

Library Tutorials

View these short videos and tutorials from the library.

Organizing Information:

• Annotated bibliography (tutorial)

Synthesizing Information:

• Synthesizing information (video)
• Synthesizing information for academic writing (tutorial)

Reading & Writing:

• Anatomy of a research paper (video)
• Writing help (video)
• Paraphrasing, quoting, and summarizing (tutorial)
• Academic writing (video)