Directory of Open Access Journals - DOAJ
The Directory of Open Access Journals is a white list of reputable publishers, aiming to maintain a list of reputable open access publishers.
Launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals, DOAJ today contains ca. 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
- List of journals falsely claiming to be indexed by DOAJA blog from DOAJ: "The following journals say, or have said in the past, that they are indexed in DOAJ but they are NOT. In some cases, they carry our logo without our permission".
- DOAJ: Journals added and removedA spreadsheet of journals removed from DOAJ for various reasons.
Blogs to Follow
{both written by David H. Kaye, Distinguished Professor of Law at Penn State)
Databases to Find Journals
- JANE (Journal/Author Name Estimator)A free tool to find the most appropriate journal for your topic, JANE includes titles from Medline.
- Journal Citation Reports (RU restricted)In addition to providing Impact Factors of journals, JCR allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries.
- JournalGuideA free tool that helps researchers to evaluate scholarly journals. In addition to searching by journal name, category or publisher, authors can use the title and abstract of a paper to discover journals that have already published articles on similar topics.
- Journal ReviewerAn independent site that aggregates information users provide about their experience with academic journals' review processes so that other others can be as informed as possible as they consider journal submissions.
- MEDLINESearch the Catalog of the National Library of Medicine for "currentlyindexed" to retrieve a list of journals currently indexed in MEDLINE, the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.
- Predatory Reports: Predatory Journals in Scientific PublishingLists of predatory publishers and journals updated annually by an organization made up of volunteer researchers who have been harmed by predatory publishers and want to help researchers identify trusted journals and publishers for their research.
- SHERPA/RoMEOAn online resource that aggregates and analyses publisher open access policies from around the world and provides summaries of self-archiving permissions and conditions of rights given to authors on a journal-by-journal basis.
- WorldCat (RU restricted)A composite catalog of library collections that enables users to search for books, journals, archival materials, dissertations, government publications, maps, music, musical scores, videos, and other resources
(The former) Beall's List of Predatory Publishers
Jeffrey Beall started a blacklist of potential, possible, or probable predatory scholarly open‑access publishers in 2011 and maintained his list until January 2017, when it was shut down.
An archived version of Beall's list is still available. A snapshot from December 2016, it is a great resource to evaluate publishers as well as to check out a particular title. Another version is a copy of Beall's list of predatory publishers & journals, as retrieved from cached copy on 15th January 2017.
Beall's criteria to evaluate journals and publishers are still notable and valid. He suggests checking out the editor and staff of the journal, its business management and publishing practices, as well as its integrity.
Find archived lists on Archive.Is or the Internet Archive:
Publishers: Archive.is | Archive.org
Standalone journals: Archive.is | Archive.org
Hijacked journals: Archive.is | Archive.org
Metric companies: Archive.is | Archive.org